We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, and well positioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place, and well positioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was comfortable, and the only two things I was disappointed about was the lack of help in cancelling an on-line prepaid room I didn't need (Other hotels worked with me when our daughter had to cancel) and that the ice maker didn't work on the fifth floor. Other than that, the room was comfortable and reasonably dark at night. The parking is pretty inadequate, at least on weekends. I would stay there again, though, because at $54 per night it was great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. It's nice to hear that you were comfortable while you were here, we strive to create an atmosphere that provides clean and pleasant experience for each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks again!
Travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    71
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
47
49
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is clean, but showing signs of age. Most ice machines did not work on our side of the hotel. The one that did work made an annoyingly loud noise that had to disturb guests in rooms near the machine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property. We value all guest feedback and are excited each time we hear from our guests. I'm sorry about the problem you had with the ice machine, and that is being looked into. I'm glad to see that the hotel was cleaned to your standards as this is an area that we have spent countless hours training in the past years, it's nice to see that paying off. I hope that you get to stay with us again soon, and would love to speak to you further.

Thank you again,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Tanglewood in Roanoke VA is at a great location. 5 minutes from lots of restaurants and a mall. The room we had was very clean and almost everything including the refrigerator was in working order. The interior halls were clean as was the lobby area. The pool was clear and refreshing.
The only disappointments were a HD TV that pixelated often and the lack of an included breakfast. To be fair they do offer a "Priority Member" cold breakfast on mon-fri. it was adequate. The $10 hot breakfast seemed a bit over priced so we passed on it.
The desk staffers were very courteous.
All in all - a good place at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: ask for a hot breakfast voucher at check in - they seem to be happy to hand out a limited number as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we did! I'm glad that the IHG Loyalty Club Breakfast was adequate for you, and we also offer an all-you-can-eat buffet 7 days a week in the Elephant Walk Restaurant. It's also nice to hear that our staff delivered on our promise of offering excellent service to every guest.

Thank you again,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was a guest at this hotel for just one night. But, I was very satisfied with this great hotel. It is convenient to the Interstate,airport, restaurants,business areas. I was really impressed with the views from this hotel. Quite stunning! The rooms were quite comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and friendly. Strong recommend for this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words! We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer the greatest views of the Blue Ridge Mountains anywhere in the valley, and our property just finished a beautiful renovation! I'm happy that you were impressed with our staff as well, we take pride in providing excellent service to each guest and its nice to see that we did so for you! Please stop by and see us again the next time you're in town!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a wedding. From the moment i booked my room the staff were rude. I was often put on hold for long periods of time. At first i assumed they were really busy, but I'm not so sure now. The stairwells very dirty and had some kind of dried, dark liquid on the walls. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our service and I'm saddened to hear that we didn't deliver on that in this case. Our hotel just finished a beautiful renovation which may explain some of the other issues. I would love to discuss this at greater length with you, please feel free to call me at any time.

Thank you and Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here while visiting for a work conference and didn't quite feel like it was up to standards. Rooms were nice and clean, no complaints about beds or bathroom. Over all feel of hotel is that it could use some maintenance for common areas such as leaky ceilings , holes in the walls, and peeling wallpaper . The front desk people could use some customer service training , they didn't seem completely sure of what they were doing .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Wdude99,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you found the rooms nice and clean. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Avoid Sheraton this is far better . Great staff and clean rooms. Will take all my business to them. There new look is awesome. Banquet staff is very curteous. Gave me free upgrade for being a priority club guest and concierge lounge is good too.

Room Tip: Ask for breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us and others know how well we're doing, and thanks for the high praise. I'll be sharing this review with the entire staff at our next meeting! Our concierge lounge is something we offer to our Priority Club Members with a free continental breakfast Monday through Friday, and I'm glad you seem to have enjoyed that! And our banquet staff is second to none in my most humble opinion!

Thanks again for your kind words,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.