We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was a guest at this hotel for just one night. But, I was very satisfied with this great hotel. It is convenient to the Interstate,airport, restaurants,business areas. I was really impressed with the views from this hotel. Quite stunning! The rooms were quite comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and friendly. Strong recommend for this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words! We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer the greatest views of the Blue Ridge Mountains anywhere in the valley, and our property just finished a beautiful renovation! I'm happy that you were impressed with our staff as well, we take pride in providing excellent service to each guest and its nice to see that we did so for you! Please stop by and see us again the next time you're in town!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    68
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
45
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a wedding. From the moment i booked my room the staff were rude. I was often put on hold for long periods of time. At first i assumed they were really busy, but I'm not so sure now. The stairwells very dirty and had some kind of dried, dark liquid on the walls. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our service and I'm saddened to hear that we didn't deliver on that in this case. Our hotel just finished a beautiful renovation which may explain some of the other issues. I would love to discuss this at greater length with you, please feel free to call me at any time.

Thank you and Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here while visiting for a work conference and didn't quite feel like it was up to standards. Rooms were nice and clean, no complaints about beds or bathroom. Over all feel of hotel is that it could use some maintenance for common areas such as leaky ceilings , holes in the walls, and peeling wallpaper . The front desk people could use some customer service training , they didn't seem completely sure of what they were doing .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Wdude99,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you found the rooms nice and clean. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Avoid Sheraton this is far better . Great staff and clean rooms. Will take all my business to them. There new look is awesome. Banquet staff is very curteous. Gave me free upgrade for being a priority club guest and concierge lounge is good too.

Room Tip: Ask for breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us and others know how well we're doing, and thanks for the high praise. I'll be sharing this review with the entire staff at our next meeting! Our concierge lounge is something we offer to our Priority Club Members with a free continental breakfast Monday through Friday, and I'm glad you seem to have enjoyed that! And our banquet staff is second to none in my most humble opinion!

Thanks again for your kind words,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were at a convention at the Civic center and booked the Holiday Inn @tanglewood. They are currently renovating the hotel so there were some amenities (like the pool) that was not open. When we checked in we told the front desk clerk we were priority club members and he looked up our number, but did not tell us of anything going on in the hotel or offer any assistance with local restaurants etc.
The next morning my Mother ran into another guest who asked if she was heading to the FREE breakfast for priority club members? She went each AM as did others in our group that were members, none of which were informed, however we did speak with ladies that were told about it and helped to fill out the forms so they were members.
The hotel was adequate, but overpriced for Roanoke.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know how your stay was. We strive to make every guest's experience with us a pleasurable one, and I'm sorry that you seem to have not gotten all the needed information at check in. We do offer a complimentary breakfast for our Priority Club Members on our fifth floor Monday through Friday, and we also have a buffet served in the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge 7 days a week for those looking for more than the continental!!

Good news though! The renovation is complete and the pool is open!!! Please come back and see us again now that it's finished, the final product really is something to see!!

Thanks again for your time!
Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I plan meetings for Non-Profit Groups, mostly Church-related groups.
I had a group of 400+ persons at this property in Nov. 2012.
They have completed their renovation and invited me back to take another look
The Ballroom is Beautiful-- New Carpet, New Lighting, etc. The theme
carries through into the breakout rooms as well.
I will be recommenind to my group to return to this hotel

I also discovered they have a VIP area on Floor 5 for Business Travelers,
for Brekafast. Nice touch

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains. Great view. One elevator is glass-so you can get a first hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I'm so glad you were able to make it back and see our beautifully renovated property! We're so looking forward to what's to come with our new ballrooms. Everyone seems to really love what we've done with them and we can't wait to start seeing the big groups like yours come and see them! The VIP lounge on our fifth floor is where our Priority Club Members can take time to grab a quick bite on the way to work in the morning and we offer that Monday through Friday!

Please come back and see us again soon, we can't wait!!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for years and never saw this property in such good shape. Love their remodeling . Mr. Rohan was very helpful and even gave me tour of their ballrooms. Great job by entire cleaning and front desk staff. They earned my trust forever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I'm so glad to know that our renovation is having an effect on our guests, it was a lot of time and effort involved from the planning right up to the final bit of carpet to complete. It is 100% finished now and we're rolling right into a great time of the year to show it off. I hope we get to see you again soon to show you what else we have to offer!!

Thank you for your kind words and feedback!
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.