We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVICE SAVE THE DAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Culver City, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SERVICE SAVE THE DAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for business purposes. The hotel is basis but clean and is in the process of upgrading the rooms. I had an issue with noise and the engineer, Mr. Smith, spent almost an hour to help me find the right. I appreciate that type of customer service. Checking in and checking out was no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    69
    47
    18
    12
See reviews for
45
47
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wytheville, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay and the events of MystiCon held at this nice establishment. The front desk clerks were friendly, the room was nice and clean, comfortable bed, enjoyed downtime with the television (ahhh, the luxury of HBO), climate control functioned nicely, pretty nice location for shopping and eating, ... Only thing we didn't check out was the restaurant at the hotel. Overall, I found it cozy and nice! We would recommend this hotel as well as stay here again (especially for MystiCon!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Never have we been more proud to host a convention event. This year was so spectacular and we were so excited leading up to and during the events. I'm glad you were able to relax in your room (that's a 32" 1080 HD TV), and yes, HBO in every room. I wish you had been able to try the Elephant Walk Restaurant though, the food there really is great. Maybe next year though. Thanks again for staying with us, and hopefully we'll see you again next year!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not elegant, but suitable for a good night's sleep, with some nice amenities. I especially liked the choice of soft or firm pillow. I always appreciate a coffee maker in the bathroom, and it was extra nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave for economical in-room eating. There is also an iron, and the TV was adequate for my viewing preferences. No problems connecting with the free wi-fi. A/C worked well and adjusted to where we liked it. Not a big room, and as I said, not particularly fancy, but comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, too. We even got a free shuttle ride to the nearest Walgreens for some unexpected personal needs. Lots of conference rooms, hallways are a bit narrow. The Sunday brunch in the restaurant was a bargain at $10 for all you can eat! We got there closer to lunch time, and the bbq chicken was yummy! Don't be put off by the scaffolding outside, (they are still renovating,) or the small lobby. It's really a pretty nice place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I'm truly happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I'm glad that you got to try the Sunday Brunch Buffet. Our restaurant staff is always excited when Sunday rolls around and they get to serve that special menu. We do offer a complimentary shuttle to anywhere within 3 miles, or to the airport, and the TV's are all 32" 1080 now. Thank you so much for staying with us, and I really hope we get to see you again in the future!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Granted we got a convention rate, but not a bad room for the money. Only complaint would be that our mini fridge made too much noise while we we're trying to sleep. Even though we we're at the end of the hall across from an elevator and steps, I never heard the loud slamming of a door, or the elevator.
Checking in was a breeze and they even worked with me and allowed me to check in earlier than the stated three PM time.
Staff was wonderful. From the time I asked about checking in early, checking me in, to checking out. They we're always friendly and had a smile. Something A LOT of business's are lacking today.
I'll be staying there again for next years Con.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are so blessed every year when the end of February rolls around and we get to host this Con. This year was by far the biggest it's been, and sometimes it becomes very difficult to manage all the details surrounding this type of event. That said, the staff from the Con and from our facility worked so diligently this year to make sure everything went smoothly, and we feel great about the outcome. Sorry about the fridge, but i'm glad to hear that you didn't experience any other issues with noise. Also, you're very correct, a smile goes a long way, and we pride ourselves on ours.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during MystiCon, a local science fiction convention. The hotel is in an excellent location, just off Electric Road an near banks, grocery stores, restaurants, and Tanglewood Mall on the south side of town. It's a quick ride to downtown, the airport, or Salem, too, if needed.

The front desk staff were friendly, professional, and didn't lose their cool or look down their noses at the crowds of stormtroopers, princesses, etc. attending the con. Kudos.

We were in a queen room with a double sleeper couch. The room was a bit dated but clean. The bed was very, very comfy and I really appreciated that they included both soft (for DH) and firm (for me) pillows. The amenities were standard--soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion--but for once, they weren't overperfumed. Thank you! The shower was forceful without being cruel, and there seemed to be plenty of hot water every time we needed it. Small "closet" but lots of drawers and electrical outlets. FREE WI-FI, people. Temperature control was good with the in-room heat/AC unit. HD TV did the job just fine, as did the refrigerator and coffeemaker. We weren't in a handicap-accessible room, so I can't comment on that. The noise level was very low, even though we our room was down the hall from the consuite.

We had a cup of coffee in the hotel bar, but otherwise, we didn't eat at the hotel. The first morning of the con, though, they gave us each a small bag containing 2 blueberry muffins, an apple, and a banana. That was nice.

The meeting (con) facilities were decent, and the chairs were comfortable. The only negative is that all of the con traffic needed to pass through 2 fairly narrow hallways, which made navigation difficult at times. There were 2 elevators handling the crowd, so the wait usually wasn't very long.

The hotel is undergoing some renovations, most apparent around the pool area (which was closed in February, of course). I didn't notice any noise or smell from the work, though.

All in all, this Holiday Inn offers a great value for a decent room in a very good location. I'd stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Wow. What a fantastic amount of feedback!! Thank you so much for taking the time to include so much information for us. We are all so glad that everyone seems to have enjoyed the con again this year! And we can't wait to host it again in 2014!! I'm sorry that you didn't get a chance to try out the food in our restaurant,but hopefully you'll get that opportunity next time you stay with us. You've made mention of several of our amenities, but it seems your favorite was the free wi-fi. Some travelers don't realize how important that is until they happen to be somewhere without it. And we offer that in the entire building (even by the pool).

We can't wait to see all the Storm Troopers and Browncoats again next year (cause you can't stop the signal Mal). And hopefully you'll be among them!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I travel very poorly and usually dread it but my comfort level at this hotel is always assured. A year after our last visit we walked in to a staff that knew our names and preferences. The accommodations are more than comfortable, every level of the staff is kind, attentive and friendly.

With easy access to a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment Holiday Inn Tanglewood will always be our choice for our travels to and in Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I was so excited when I heard that you were coming back again this year. We all remembered you from the previous year's Con and we loved having you. Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm happy that you were comfortable again this year. And I look forward to seeing you again next year! Thank you again for your time and kind words.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

While staying at holiday Inn Tanglewood for Mysticon 2013, I was pleasantly surprised with the professionalism of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel itself, and the way the hotel put up with our noise and activities. It was very pleasant and I would stay there again. :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us while attending your convention. We're so glad that we were able to impress you, as we pride ourselves on our service. Every guest, every day, every time we want to deliver on our promise to be the best. I hope you enjoyed the Con and we all can't wait to host you again next year!!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.