We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Radford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a local wedding. Everything was adequate. Problem with the shower fixed immediately upon reporting the problem. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Friends had a "parlor room" which was great to have a place to hang out with a kitchen! Convenient to Tanglewood mall, and area restaurants. Basic hotel breakfast (eggs, waffles, etc.), not included with price unless you are a club member, then only available free to club members Monday through Friday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope the wedding was fantastic! I'm very pleased to see that our maintenance crew was on top of things when you had an issue in the room, our chief engineer will be very please to hear that! Our parlor rooms are unique, one-of-a-kind congregational rooms that are very useful for family events and weddings, and I'm happy you were able to find use in one. Our full buffet breakfast is available 7 days a week, and we do have a continental on weekdays for our club members as well. I do hope you we get to see you again, and thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    79
    51
    24
    12
See reviews for
56
54
19
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everything met my expectations of Holiday Inn...nothing exceptional, but good nonetheless. Typical mid-scale rooms and decor. I don't think you'll have any negative issues unless you're a Ritz-Carlton type of traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I'm so glad to know that our property met your expectations! I noticed that you provided high marks for the cleanliness and service categories. I'm very pleased to see that as we've spent a lot of time and effort in training over the past few months. My staff will be excited to know that you were pleased with them. I'm wondering though if you had the chance to eat in our restaurant? I hope that you did, and that you enjoyed it. If you didn't find the time do get into the lounge, then i truly hope you get to stay with us again. We feel that our restaurant is one of the best qualities we have here. Thank you again for your feedback, and let me know when you're coming back by!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Made a reservation through 1 800 Holiday and when I showed up at 11:30pm I learn they were over booked. They had made a reservation for me across town , at a less desirable hotel, in an undesirabled section of town. When I spoke with 1 800 Holiday customer serivce they told me the manger would call. He did, he apologized and said he would send me a voucher for a free night at his hotel. That was labor weekend and I have seen nothing in the mail. Trust 1 800 Holiday...won't try it again or the hotel....Bad customer service for a manager not to honor his word!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear nacstafford,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, VA. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped here overnight on a bus trip from Alabama to Pennsylvania. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They have a choice of soft or firm pillows. There was a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. The hotel has a very basic continental breakfast for Priority Club members but not for others. There is an adjacent restaurant but we did not eat there so I can't report on their food or prices. Also, since we were on a bus trip I am unable to comment on the hotel prices. There is a nearby mall and several good places to eat.
We were tired from riding all day and slept well with no noise problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, we're glad that we had the opportunity to serve you and thankful that you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your trip went well and that we get to see you again. The continental breakfast is a bonus that we do offer to all our Priority Club Members and I do hope you were pleased with that. Our restaurant does serve a full service buffet breakfast every morning as well. I hope that the next time you stay with us you'll have a chance to try out our restaurant as well. Thank you again for your comments, and please travel safe until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood for a business trip. The hotel is ok - definitely in need of updating. My room was on the 5th floor. The wing where it was located seemed newer and better kept than the main area. Perhaps that area was newly renovated.

The hotel staff was friendly. I arrived early and requested to check in. A room wasn't ready just yet but they quickly notified me when it was available.

My work meeting included dinner and the buffet meal provided was good. The food was well seasoned and fresh. I was less than impressed with the cocktails served up at the cash bar. Not sure if the bartender knew what she was doing.

I spent time at the lounge later that evening and enjoyed time with the bartender on duty - B. Definitely a personable fellow - he created a lively atmosphere and encouraged the other patrons at the bar to interact. He's a gem.

Overall - it was an enjoyable stay but the hotel is in need of updating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I'm so glad to hear your feedback. We did indeed just finish a renovation of all our sleeping rooms, and we are starting our renovation on our banquets and public areas very soon (by the end of this year). The next time you come for a meeting you wont even believe how much has changed. I'm so glad that you were pleased with your room and the food for your meeting. And thank you for spending some time in our lounge as well, B. has been with us a very long time and I will personally make it a point to recognize him for his good work. Again, thank you so much for your feedback, our staff will be very proud to hear all of this. When we see you again, please let us know what you think of our renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have coordinated an event here for three years. The prices are reasonable, the space is sufficient for our needs, and the staff are unmatched in their responsiveness. From the hotel manager to the maintenance guys, everyone works together to quickly and happily solve whatever issues our participants have during the event. The front desk staff were friendly, the event/catering staff were on the ball. Everything is consistently done well, just as we request it. We get raving reviews on our event every year and I know the hotel staff has a lot to do with it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a corporate event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear that our banquet facility was able to meet your expectations again this year. I know everyone in that department was excited to be here the day of your event. As you know we have quite a large banquet area, and it is fun to host event of all size and purpose, and I'm so glad to hear that those that were in attendance for your event were pleased with the staff and services. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to hopefully hosting your event once again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Paul, the front desk manager, was very kind to us and put us at ease when we required shuttling more than once due to our own indecision! with such friendly employees, would definitely recommend staying here or using conference amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.