We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood-Roanoke. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was terrific - decorated nicely - quiet and comfortable. Overall, a very good experience. We'd definitely stay there again when visiting Roanoke, VA.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback. Our guest/s feedbacks are very important to us as it gives us an opportunity to get better at what we do. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was upto your satisfaction. We will share & celebrate your review with the team of Holiday Inn Tanglewood.

Thank You
Rohan Patel
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    69
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
44
46
17
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poquoson, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We used the Holiday Inn - Tanglewood (HIT) as the central point for our daughter's wedding. Prior to the weekend of the Wedding we stayed at the same hotel on two other occasions in prep for the weekend. We have stayed at numerous hotels thru out the mid-Atlantic and by far the staff at the HIT are the most friendly and helpful staff on all our visits. Paul Wright who was the desk manager worked with us to ensure all our rooms, transportation and other needs were meet. Paul even came in on his off day to make sure things were straight. Leo who was the individual on our floor responsible for keeping the rooms cleaned worked around the wedding party and guests (over 30 rooms) to ensure no one was rushed. Tammi also was very helpful ln arranging a buffet breakfast in a seperate ball room and servers for the day after the wedding so all could relax and spend time before heading out in all directions. During the various stays we could see the positive improvements/renovations to the hotel and the rooms to include HD flat screen TV's and very comfortable beds. The only downside to the HIT is the bathroom is a tad smaller than I liked. We will use the HIT again as our travels take us back into the Roanoke, VA area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
I am so thriled to read your review. I will share with the Staff !! This is what we strive for. Please ask for me when you are back to Roanoke, VA.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Have stayed at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood several times and are always very pleased with the room and the services provided. Only down side is that there is not coffee available in the lobby 24 hours a day. This was the only hotel we have stayed at during our traveling vacations that did not provide this service. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our next stay in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding out hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

We take our guest's feedbacks very seriously and I assure you that we will use your suggestion about 24hours coffee station and will implement ASAP.

You may also be interested to learn that we have complimentary in room coffee maker and our staff will be more than Happy to provide additional complimentary coffee product upon request.

Once again, Thank you for your input in helping us provide the best possible hospitality to our valued Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A buddy and I picked a spot between us and met. Roanoke, Virginia was the spot! Found a good rate on Priceline using a three-star criteria. The hotel is an older building that has been renovated on the inside. Bathroom shows some minor wear and tear - lots of extra caulking around the tub and toilet; however, the countertops, paint and trim are all newer. The room had a smaller flat panel TV in it, too. Beds were very comfortable, too! We used the pool one afternoon, which was clean and in good repair. We also spent time in the restaurant, which was well appointed and appealing. The hotel also has a fantastic shuttle service. We were there for 4 nights, so we used it quite a bit. They took us downtown, to local restaurants in the area, etc. Very nice service to provide customers with. The people at the front desk were especially nice - very helpful and willing to guide us in the right direction. I would say that the only downfall is that there is no free continental breakfast served. They have a small room near the front desk where you can get a cup of coffee. They want you to use their restaurant in lieu of providing b-fast. Not the end of the world, but not what we were used to for a hotel in the “suburbs,” basically. Certainly not enough to take aware from the other positives of the hotel. Thanks again for a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our traveling soccer team and families recently stayed in this hotel for a tournament. Several parents commented to me that this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and I'm sorry I have to agree.

I wish I could say better things about this hotel. But to start with some good things, the breakfast staff was pleasant and accommodating; management took good care setting up our room block and making sure breakfast was set up in the morning, very nice. And the front desk staff was for the most part nice. The parents had a good time enjoying the lounge and karaoke. And the staff there was good.

The problem is that the rooms and most of the hotel is filthy and in terrible need of a remodel. Layers of dust over everything, visible holes in the walls where cheap outlet covers weren't set right, cobwebs, one of the water glasses in our room actually had some liquid still in it when we got there. Not sure what's going on in the bathtub, there wasn't a drain cover. There were rooms with air conditioning units that looked like they belonged in a roadside cheap motel. Not in a Holiday Inn. the sheets seemed threadbare and old, same with pillows and mattresses. It was really kind of gross. We didn't complain to the staff that was there because the conditions of beyond THEM. It needs serious overhaul and corporate attention in my opinion.

Or maybe this is just a Holiday Inn? We aren't sure, we've stayed in a lot of hotels, and i"m thinking that before staying here, really maybe save yourself some money and go to a lower grade hotel or look for the Hampton up the street.

Also, know that the photo they've got up there is a tad misleading. We all expected to be staying in the middle of a vista or something. The hotel is located in a heavy mall and traffic area, which was actually GREAT for getting to restaurants, just don't be surprised when you get there and wonder what angle they took the photo at.

Room Tip: Really, stay somewhere else if you're looking for a good room. We didn't hear of any or expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear monamimi,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide quality service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read our staff exceeded your expectations. It is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the rooms you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and service we offer for our next guests.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to have the honor of hosting you and your team again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had to stay here for two nights recently. I stayed on the ground floor and it was very loud with guests coming in and out, as well as the staff. I suggest not staying on the ground floor.

The room was ok overall; it was clean. I think it was a little dated and the room was an average size. The beds were comfortable. The reception staff were all polite and helpful, and probably would have moved my room but I didn't want to fuss with repacking.

The location is convenient, which is why I picked it. It's in a very busy area of Roanoke with easy walking access to restaurants and other amenities. Next time I would pick something less busy, but this hotel overall was ok. I'd stay there again if I needed to.

Room Tip: Get a room away from an exit on an upper floor, you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice place to stay, was not too expensive and the room service was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.