We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A buddy and I picked a spot between us and met. Roanoke, Virginia was the spot! Found a good rate on Priceline using a three-star criteria. The hotel is an older building that has been renovated on the inside. Bathroom shows some minor wear and tear - lots of extra caulking around the tub and toilet; however, the countertops, paint and trim are all newer. The room had a smaller flat panel TV in it, too. Beds were very comfortable, too! We used the pool one afternoon, which was clean and in good repair. We also spent time in the restaurant, which was well appointed and appealing. The hotel also has a fantastic shuttle service. We were there for 4 nights, so we used it quite a bit. They took us downtown, to local restaurants in the area, etc. Very nice service to provide customers with. The people at the front desk were especially nice - very helpful and willing to guide us in the right direction. I would say that the only downfall is that there is no free continental breakfast served. They have a small room near the front desk where you can get a cup of coffee. They want you to use their restaurant in lieu of providing b-fast. Not the end of the world, but not what we were used to for a hotel in the “suburbs,” basically. Certainly not enough to take aware from the other positives of the hotel. Thanks again for a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
42
44
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our traveling soccer team and families recently stayed in this hotel for a tournament. Several parents commented to me that this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and I'm sorry I have to agree.

I wish I could say better things about this hotel. But to start with some good things, the breakfast staff was pleasant and accommodating; management took good care setting up our room block and making sure breakfast was set up in the morning, very nice. And the front desk staff was for the most part nice. The parents had a good time enjoying the lounge and karaoke. And the staff there was good.

The problem is that the rooms and most of the hotel is filthy and in terrible need of a remodel. Layers of dust over everything, visible holes in the walls where cheap outlet covers weren't set right, cobwebs, one of the water glasses in our room actually had some liquid still in it when we got there. Not sure what's going on in the bathtub, there wasn't a drain cover. There were rooms with air conditioning units that looked like they belonged in a roadside cheap motel. Not in a Holiday Inn. the sheets seemed threadbare and old, same with pillows and mattresses. It was really kind of gross. We didn't complain to the staff that was there because the conditions of beyond THEM. It needs serious overhaul and corporate attention in my opinion.

Or maybe this is just a Holiday Inn? We aren't sure, we've stayed in a lot of hotels, and i"m thinking that before staying here, really maybe save yourself some money and go to a lower grade hotel or look for the Hampton up the street.

Also, know that the photo they've got up there is a tad misleading. We all expected to be staying in the middle of a vista or something. The hotel is located in a heavy mall and traffic area, which was actually GREAT for getting to restaurants, just don't be surprised when you get there and wonder what angle they took the photo at.

Room Tip: Really, stay somewhere else if you're looking for a good room. We didn't hear of any or expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear monamimi,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide quality service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read our staff exceeded your expectations. It is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the rooms you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and service we offer for our next guests.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to have the honor of hosting you and your team again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had to stay here for two nights recently. I stayed on the ground floor and it was very loud with guests coming in and out, as well as the staff. I suggest not staying on the ground floor.

The room was ok overall; it was clean. I think it was a little dated and the room was an average size. The beds were comfortable. The reception staff were all polite and helpful, and probably would have moved my room but I didn't want to fuss with repacking.

The location is convenient, which is why I picked it. It's in a very busy area of Roanoke with easy walking access to restaurants and other amenities. Next time I would pick something less busy, but this hotel overall was ok. I'd stay there again if I needed to.

Room Tip: Get a room away from an exit on an upper floor, you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice place to stay, was not too expensive and the room service was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our organization has used this hotel for over 15 years to host a training conference. Attendance ranges from 50-200 and each time they have been very gracious to meeting our needs, Rooms have been recently remodeled and there is new furniture througout,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Everything was very clean and easy to find. The staff is excellent......anything you need, they will make sure you get it.

Only one problem.....watch the hot water....it is HOT!! Younger children could be scalded if left unattended.

Room Tip: If you are near the highway, you may hear a little late night travel, but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITW, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.....We will let everyone know.....Come back and see us again real soon. We will check on the water for the future......

Thank you again
Mary Hodges
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here a couple of times due to a family emergency. Staff is WONDERFUL. Rooms are clean and spacious. Ask for two coffee packs if you are an in-room coffee drinker and houskeeping is a little loud in the AM. Based on staff, though, it is a total value:)

Booked at 1/2 price on Hotwire, really pleased. Close to banks, Panera, and shopping, EZ on and off 581.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are remodeled and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.