We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean; extremely nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
“Very clean; extremely nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here this past Monday night because of the proximity to Roanoke Memorial Hospital. We were delighted with the cleanliness of the room - it was cozy and well-appointed, and as I mentioned, very clean! I have to give a shout out to the lady who makes the breakfast-this is no lame effort! The platters were filled with delicious offerings, and remained through the morning, so one did not feel rushed to get down the hall and hurry-a very nice treat.The only (minor) complaint I had was with the TV reception...somewhat fuzzy, although still 'watchable'. We will definitely be patronizing the Sleep Inn in the future when our schedule requires us to be in this area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
11
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on our weekend trip to the Martinsville Races. We selected this hotel for a number of reasons, One being it's location. We wanted to stay far enough away from the track to avoid the rowdy race crowd so we could get some sleep. Second, we selected this hotel due to the new renovations and the fact they are a Choice hotel. Being a Choice Diamond club member we have come to expect a higher level of service from Chioce hotels than other chains.

I called to make reservations and found the staff very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Upon our arrival we found the front desk agent going out of his way to help another guest find a hotel who could accomodate their special needs. Right away I was impressed with this young man. During my wait I explored the hotel. It was clean and smelled fresh. The lobby was inviting and comfortable. While we could see small signs of remodel, the hotel did a great job of hiding it.

Our room was clean and modern. The bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was cool. It did not feel like a room at the sleep in, rather a room at a much higher class hotel. The only suggestions I would have for our room would be a lamp in the far corner and a larger handle on the bathroom door. Aside from that the room was GREAT!

Now with all the good I talked about you may be asking why I gave it the rating I did. Here is why... On our second night we were kept awake until 2:30 am by females screaming and running up and down the hall. I went to the front desk and to complain and I couldn't find anyone. After 15 minutes of looking I found an employee. I asked if she could hear the screaming. She said "What did you say?" as she was not able to hear me over the screaming. I told her the screaming was keeping me awake and needed to stop. She said "Yes sir". I went back to my room where I laid for another 20 minutes listening to the screaming. I walked out of my room and was almost knocked down by 3 girls in their twenties who were seemingly having a water-gun battle. I looked over the balcony outside of my room where I saw the desk agent playing on her phone. I went down and told her that if it does not stop in the next 5 minutes I would be calling the cops and then Choice hotels. She said "Yes sir". Shortly after the noise mostly stopped and I was able to sleep.

The next morning I checked out and when asked about my stay I told the desk agent about the events of the night before. She said "Oh. Here is your receipt" and she walked away.

If it were not for the poor way the night before was handled and the lack of care shown by the women checking us out, this rating would be perfect.

We may return again, but no promises.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Holes in ceiling, the place smells, no bath tubs, picture on TV snowy, refrigerator makes noise like it's going to blow up and then doesn't get cold, toilet so loose that when you sit on it you think it's going to fall over. Pillows on bed aren't even full size, never seen pillows this small before on a bed. Bedspread old and tacky. Will never stay here again. The price should be $20 a night for what you get in the rooms.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, PA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I was told the place is undergoing renovations. As you walk in, the place smells overpowering of antiseptics. I felt like I was in a hospital. We did not want the room in the basement and the young lady at the desk, April, was very accommodating to change our rooms to the second floor where she said they were newly renovated. Yeah, maybe new beds, but the rugs were dirty (my white socks were filthy). My colleagues with me said the same thing of their rooms too. Thin towels, small room, funny smell here too....
The breakfast is sugary donuts and a waffle machine along with some fruit and more cakes and muffins. We opted for coffee and going out....
One guest said they spotted a raccoon along the perimeter of the building and it was going in and out of the room to the right of the entrance where the trash is kept with the door open.
Coffee is weak and warm and so we walked to the KFC next door for coffee.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This hotel had been renovated and is clean and quiet. Great value for the price! They were vacuuming the lobby very early in the morning 6:30am and I asked them to do it later because my room was on the second floor with an open balcony and it was very loud! It sounded like it was right outside my door. They were very accommodating and did stop. I had another hour to sleep so I did not feel they needed to clean that early!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Upon arrival they didn't have my reservation in their system and admitted that they have been having problems with Price.Com bookings. The desk manager called them and cancelled the reservation and rebooked me plus placing my wife & I in a suite for the same price I originally book for a single room for the trouble we experienced. For a two star hotel it was very quiet and the beds were excellent. Breakfast was good and the room was comfortable . As with all older hotels within this pay range it was above average and I was very satisfied with the price paid and service received. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Room was very clean. There wasn't any sign of dust on the Flat screen TV or table. Mattress appeared to be new. It was very comfortable.Sheets were clean. Very quiet. I didn't hear any noise outside my window or in the hallway during my four night stay from September 01-September 05. Fridge in the room kept my water and canned sodas very cold. Everything in the bathroom was clean. Ample supply of fresh, clean, towels. The houskeeper gave me new toiletries every day.The guests staying there were friendly and each staff member was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. I don't have any complaints about this hotel.
jill10

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
My staff and I truly appreciate the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Address: 4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.