We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could say more positive comments...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish I could say more positive comments...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed there for one night to break up a two day drive. Clearly we were tired and wanted to be out of the car, but not this bad. I called a sister hotel which was ranked high on TripAdvisor, but when they didn't have availability, they suggested this hotel. I should have done my research and looked back at the hotel rankings. While the room was very large, as promised, it was old, dirty, and rundown. No bugs, but exposed electrical work, thin mattresses, stained bathrooms, and dusty walls abounded. A few positives- the front desk staff was very, very nice when we checked in. So helpful I felt bad having to write an honest review of the establishment. They also had a basic breakfast that satisfied two kids, and it was free. Also, the room was cheap. Lesson learned though, I will not be so impulsive next time when my first choice isn't available.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
8
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the sites in Roanoke and to attend the NASCAR race in Martinsville. The room was ok. nothing special. Could hear the person above me walk around. If you are on the first floor make sure your window is locked. The hallway could use a good cleaning breakfast area was good and clean. Also there was no elevator. just stairs for the 1st and 3rd floor guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked online at their website. The room was discounted 15% if we paid in advance, in full , no refunds or cancellations. We booked a nonsmoking queen for 2 nights. When we got there, they said all they would give us was a small, older room with 1 double bed ... no queen. We would not get a refund if we left and could not cancel. Even though we had a confirmation email clearly stating a "queen". . Be careful... it is "bait and switch " if you book online!

Room Tip: Can not select room f online, they bait and switch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I travel a lot and im a choice platinum rewards member. I have stayed in about 100 hotels this year. This was the first time I asked to change rooms. It smelled like dogs live in the room. I own dogs, and the smell hit me like a brick when I walked in. I was able to change rooms, next room is very dirty, curtains don't close, turned on ac and the whole plastic cover fell right off, bedding looks like it came from salvation army, Pillows have zero support and should have been replaced long ago, like everyone else says the carpet in the hall is nasty with powder lining the halls with stained carpets. I should have turned and left after seeing how sorry the lobby looked. I stay at choice hotels because they are usually kept well and keep me within my expense allowance. This is my first time rating anything on here. Im not one to complain over a single incident or having a rude clerk because things happen, id go elsewhere until these so called "Renevations" are completed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Before I checked in at The Sleep Inn /Tanglewood I was at another choice hotel "that wasn't my best choice" I couldn't wait to check out of The Roadway Inn on Orange Ave/460. I viewed The Sleep Inn online and liked what I saw but after Roadway I felt a doghouse would do..lol
Well I made a excellent Choice with this Choice Hotel! Can't express how comfortable I was..Yet what also stood out was a employee named Jared. ? I mention my Roadway experience and that young man put me at ease and gave me such outstanding customer service, even went to my room to see that things were correct himself. He really went the extra mile not just on day one but continue right into day two..
My faith is restored in ChoiceHotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintwood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel through Expedia (I recommend this), which was the best deal we could find in the area with interior rooms and it conveniently ended up being only 2.5 miles from the conference. It was a pretty good experience considering the deal we got. When we first arrived, there was a strong smell of smoke in our non-smoking room (219), so I went to tell the desk worker and she quickly moved us to another room. The new room (214) smelled fresh and clean upon entering. I checked out the two most important things to me, the bathroom and the sheets, and both appeared to be clean so we were satisfied. There are some signs of age and wear and tear with the furniture and stains on the hallway carpet, but to be fair there is a sign in the front of the lobby that states that the hotel is under renovations. There is some evidence of mold STAINING around the shower door from past mold, but not actual present mold. It's hard to keep shower doors clean anyway, and it appears that this may have been an issue for this hotel in the past but I understand that they are under new management. You can hear other folks move about the hotel, but that kind of thing doesn't annoy me. I liked the layout of the room. I slept very soundly and the complementary breakfast selection was very nice.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have problems with stairs, request a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was riding the Blue Ridge Parkway all day, needed a place to stay for the night, and not too expensive. Was pleasenty surprised. The room was clean and comfortable staff was friendly. Breakfast was great. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Address: 4045 Electric Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.