We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi I have ever eaten including NYC, Hong Kong, London and Roanoke!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi's

Wasabi's
214 Market St SE, Roanoke, VA 24011-1802
540-904-6254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 415 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I have ever eaten including NYC, Hong Kong, London and Roanoke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Wasabi is seriously the best sushi I've ever eaten and I've been a sushi snob since 1980 when there were only 2 sushi joints in manhattan! I could eat the lunch wasabi special 4 days a week. Spicy tuna to die for! So fresh and an amazing find in the mountains of sw va. Yum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were enticed by the good reviews and decided to try Wasabi's when visiting Roanoke. The actual experience did not live up to the hype. The sushi was good, but not outstanding. The assortment of sushi and sashimi on the ultimate boat for two was not particularly inspired or well executed. The fish selection was repetitive, and the pieces were larger than in a more traditional place. On a return visit, we would probably stick to ordering rolls. On the plus side, service was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Who would ever guess that in Roanoke you'd find the best sushi in the US?? We stop in to eat whenever we are in the area and always order the same thing - the Sumo Roll. The sauce that is drizzled on top of the roll is to die for. After eating it and soaking your tempura battered tuna in it you just want more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Roanoke Yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a great little hideaway on Market Street! A friendly staff, huge portions, great prices, and fresh fish make this our new favorite sushi spot. We took my brother here on his first visit to Roanoke and he made us promise to return every time he's in town. My husband--not a sushi fan--was also equally thrilled with his huge and variety filled bento box. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
2 reviews
“BEST SUSHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is the best, i love it, i go there very often! The staff is very friendly. i recommend the sumo roll, tokyo roll, lovers roll, and salmon/ eel handroll!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi's also viewed

 

Been to Wasabi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.