We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat

The Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat
147 Monroe Church Rd, Rice, VA 23966
+1 434-392-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Rice
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat is the largest aerial adventure park in Virginia, offering 52 obstacles including 13 zip lines!! With state of the art safety equipment, and professional staff you are sure to have a tree-mendous time challenging yourself to new heights! For ages 7 years and up. Team building events are available. Call for group pricing. Reserve online-space is limited.
Portsmouth
1 review
“We had a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our ourselves. This was our first time visiting an adventure park and we were very pleased. Nice people and nice park! Would definitely go back!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time for our grandson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Took our grandson for his tenth birthday. He had a blast! It was a challenging course for him, but the staff was very helpful and we were able to follow along on the ground to encourage and take pictures. We would definitely go back.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onemo, Virginia
1 review
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great high ropes courses with zip lines along the way. Several courses to chose from but all in one area so if the group wants to split and do different course...the adults are within hearing and visual of the kids. Three hours was just enough time. Staff was great. A great place for scout and youth groups.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I had a blast with our time. The course was challenging, yet manageable for the beginner. The staff was always available for support, answers, and any needed guidance. We had lots of laughs and even enjoyed the roaming chickens on the property.
-Maryland couple

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
“Active fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Treated my daughter to a post-graduation celebration. Both of us enjoyed the experience, and couldn't believe how fast three hours went by. Staff is friendly and helpful - even demonstrated the best way to approach a difficult obstacle. Will definitely do this again! Advice to adventure seekers: Bring your own water. Tap water isn't readily available, and bottled water isn't sold cheaply. Consider renting one of their cabins for birthday celebrations for older children and teens. Great Youth Group outing option.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat also viewed

 

Been to The Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.