We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar with a decent restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
11990 Market St, Ste 106, Reston, VA 20190-6021
703-437-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 143 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from a wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. The first two weeks of each month a special menu from a different region of Italy is featured as part of Festa Regionale.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar with a decent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Grab a booth and this is a typical modern bar in Reston - right in the centre and handy for other eateries.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went for a casual dinner- the waiter was first class and really knew about the food, and the specials. Came to check on us but was not "in our way".....the pasta was great, bread was hot and fresh, appetizer special was outstanding. Will come back any time. Good place for a nice meal, close to home, and you can order half-portions of the pasta for reasonable price.
Only thing is, they should raise the lighting a little bit- it was pretty dark for an early dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiewoozie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our fresh bread and pasta and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
“GREAT DINNING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have enjoyed coming here for the last few years, the food has always been excellent and delicious. The service is outstanding, they always make me feel first class. I have recommended the restaurant to several of my friends and family, and they always come back with memorable experiences.

My best experience of all was last night, celebrating a company Christmas party, and receiving nothing but complements for the excellent choice of restaurant.

I want to give a special thanks to the manager Joel, and Anthony Gerena for making this event very special.
Silvia.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Totally underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our service was fine. The meal was so overpriced. The ceasar salad would have been better from a grocery store bag. My husband's veal scallopini was tough. My tenderloin dish was fine. We ordered gelato and it was not even a full scoop! Our whole table was really underwhelmed. It was our first time there and we will not return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmwjdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we apologize that our level of service and quality of food did not meet your expectation level and ours as well. Please contact me at your convenience at jabarajas@ilfo.com so I can make sure your next experience goes much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice post Thanksgiving dinner ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

It's seems we weren't the only ones looking for an alternative to turkey the night after Thanksgiving. The place was really busy- lots of large parties. Despite that we were seated immediately with a reservation and our service was was timely and attentive. The bread here is always brought to the table immediately; it's very good, too. Each of our family chose a different approach to dinner from a pizza and salad to roasted free range chicken served with potatoes and spinach. Me? I went for pasta
with a bolognese sauce. The salads and entrees were tasty and satisfying. The mushroom pizza was made without a tomato sauce, and if given the option we would have preferred that it did have some. Did not do desserts but the options were plentiful. Overall, we had an enjoyable meal.

Helpful?
Thank JDT904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your Thanksgiving dinner with us. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing