We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
11990 Market St, Ste 106, Reston, VA 20190-6021
703-437-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 134 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from a wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. The first two weeks of each month a special menu from a different region of Italy is featured as part of Festa Regionale.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'd like to relate the story of what my wife and I experienced at Il Fornaio in the Reston Town Center, Reston Virginia on Sunday, May 19, 2013.

As you may be aware, this Sunday was the Reston Arts Festival at the Town Center. We spend a couple of hours touring the exhibits and then decided that pizza and salad at Il Fornaio would be a nice lunch to top off a pleasant day at the Arts Festival. Although my wife remembered that our most recent dinner expereince at Il Fornaio resulted in a bad evening with poor service and mediocre food, we decided to be fair and give it another try.

At approximately 1:05 pm, we found the restaurant to be nearly deserted despite the crowds attendant at the Arts Festival. We asked for, and were seated at an outside table. Our waiter came by and asked for drink orders. We asked only for water, with lemon. He quickly delivered the water and a bread basket. We were ready to order, and ordered a pizza and a house salad. We didn't see him again until 20 to 30 minutes later when he brought 4 lemon wedges for our water. In the meantime, people had been seated in front of and behind our table, after we were seated. They ordered and were served, while we waited for our order, which had been given before their arrivals. We did not see our waiter except when he served the other tables. He finally stopped at our table when I asked him about our order, at this point about 45 minutes after we ordered. He said that he had checked with the chef and it would be right out. We did not see him again. At approximately 2:10 pm, we decided to leave the restaurant, as there was no sign that our lunch would be delivered, and since our "nice afternoon lunch at Il Fornaio" was already dead in the water. Our previous experience at Il Fornaio proved to be the rule. I saw the waiter on our way out, and informed him that we were leaving. I even offered to pay for the bottled water, which he said was not necessary. He apologized - we do not hold him responsible, although he could have been more pro-active in keeping us informed of the kitchen's progress and in moving the kitchen to produce what I assume is a fairly simple meal to prepare.

There are too many good dining choices in the Reston area, and throughout the Washington DC area to spend further time at Il Fornaio, and I assure you that we will not visit again, nor will we recommend it to others, although we will discourage anyone who asks about dining there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    29
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A really pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We dined at Il Fornaio for Mother's day. It was the fifth or sixth visit for us in the last two years. These folks consistently get enough right to make eating there a very pleasant experience. On this occasion the food was very good, on other occasions it has been excellent; the service was excellent, it has at other times been just very good; and the wines and alcoholic beverages are uniformly first rate. In the past we've tried their regional menus and they were also very interesting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just went here tonight with a group of ten people. The food and service were excellent. Everything was freshly prepared to order, and arrived to the table quickly. Prices are on par with a higher end sit-down restaurant, but they also had a wonderful 3-course menu for 31.99, which had very nice options, and the food I had was amazing. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

As we pulled up, magically a parking space opened up directly in front of the restaurant! I knew this was a good sign. Gorgeous spring day, looking for a light lunch,,, mixed antipasto was excellent, steak salad divine. The beef was just terrific, and the light bed of cous cous was just right, making the dish just a bit exotic. Reasonably priced to boot. Have never eaten here when it is crowded, but can assure you that when it is uncrowded, it's a super spot for an informal meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Seemed much better than a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a group of 12 diners with a reservation and we were seated promptly.Everyone commented on the excellent quality of the food and wine. I had a special that included antipasta, salad, main entre' and desert for an incrdible $29.00. Everything was very good but the main dish of Gnochi with wild boar was exceptional. The gnochi was sauteed after steaming which gave it a nice nutty flavor. The service matched the meal and the price it was excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno Claude,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor,We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.