We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
11990 Market St, Ste 106, Reston, VA 20190-6021
703-437-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 130 restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from a wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. The first two weeks of each month a special menu from a different region of Italy is featured as part of Festa Regionale.
Washington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A really pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We dined at Il Fornaio for Mother's day. It was the fifth or sixth visit for us in the last two years. These folks consistently get enough right to make eating there a very pleasant experience. On this occasion the food was very good, on other occasions it has been excellent; the service was excellent, it has at other times been just very good; and the wines and alcoholic beverages are uniformly first rate. In the past we've tried their regional menus and they were also very interesting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    50
    52
    25
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just went here tonight with a group of ten people. The food and service were excellent. Everything was freshly prepared to order, and arrived to the table quickly. Prices are on par with a higher end sit-down restaurant, but they also had a wonderful 3-course menu for 31.99, which had very nice options, and the food I had was amazing. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

As we pulled up, magically a parking space opened up directly in front of the restaurant! I knew this was a good sign. Gorgeous spring day, looking for a light lunch,,, mixed antipasto was excellent, steak salad divine. The beef was just terrific, and the light bed of cous cous was just right, making the dish just a bit exotic. Reasonably priced to boot. Have never eaten here when it is crowded, but can assure you that when it is uncrowded, it's a super spot for an informal meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Seemed much better than a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a group of 12 diners with a reservation and we were seated promptly.Everyone commented on the excellent quality of the food and wine. I had a special that included antipasta, salad, main entre' and desert for an incrdible $29.00. Everything was very good but the main dish of Gnochi with wild boar was exceptional. The gnochi was sauteed after steaming which gave it a nice nutty flavor. The service matched the meal and the price it was excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno Claude,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor,We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This particular restaurant is quite remarkable for a chain restaurant. The place is always busy but never disappoints. Great service, great value and great food.

I went here last night with several clients. The place was packed and we had no reservations. We waited at the bar for less than 15 minutes. BTW, the bar is quite a scene and the bartenders handle the stress with aplomb.

We had a really good table, excellent and attentive waitress and a fabulous evening. Count me as a regular when in Reston

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno Claude,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,

Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.