We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemed much better than a chain restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
11990 Market St, Ste 106, Reston, VA 20190-6021
703-437-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 133 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from a wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. The first two weeks of each month a special menu from a different region of Italy is featured as part of Festa Regionale.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Seemed much better than a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a group of 12 diners with a reservation and we were seated promptly.Everyone commented on the excellent quality of the food and wine. I had a special that included antipasta, salad, main entre' and desert for an incrdible $29.00. Everything was very good but the main dish of Gnochi with wild boar was exceptional. The gnochi was sauteed after steaming which gave it a nice nutty flavor. The service matched the meal and the price it was excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno Claude,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor,We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    59
    29
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This particular restaurant is quite remarkable for a chain restaurant. The place is always busy but never disappoints. Great service, great value and great food.

I went here last night with several clients. The place was packed and we had no reservations. We waited at the bar for less than 15 minutes. BTW, the bar is quite a scene and the bartenders handle the stress with aplomb.

We had a really good table, excellent and attentive waitress and a fabulous evening. Count me as a regular when in Reston

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno Claude,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,

Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Corte Madera Il Fornaio restaurant for many years and have never been disappointed with the consistently good food and service.

Today, Good Friday, was very busy everywhere, but we snagged a very comfortable booth at about 1:30 pm, and had a very relaxing lunch.

Their bread was warm with four different varieties, served with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

My husband had the special of the day, ling cod with vegetables, beautifully served, and the fish almost melted in his mouth, he said.

I had the wheat pasta dish with vegetables and large thinly sliced pieces of hard shaved cheese topping it, not mixed in in a melting mess. The pasta was wonderful - wheat pasta can be sticky and paste-like, but this was light and delicious.

We did not want dessert, but had cappuccino with non-fat milk!

The menu shows the calories for each dish and offers a smaller and larger size portion. We ordered the large size and bought half home for an easy and delicious meal the next day.

The wine list is very good with some half-bottles and good wines by the glass.

Not inexpensive, it is a place to enjoy a very good meal and a place to go for a birthday or anniversary celebration.

This is a "chain" restaurant, and when we visit other cities that have an Il FornIo restaurant, we will go there, and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno Claude,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,

Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food was OK. I was hoping to be wowed by the food and found it to be very average and a bit pricey. Service was OK, not great considering all the nice reviews I had read about. Beautiful decor and the Calamari was excellent. I have had much better food at other Italian restaurants so I cannot recommend ll Fornaio.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear about your experience at Il Fornaio in Reston. We strive to provide a great experience for every guest and appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention.

I have spoken with our Team members the importance of following the recipies. We would like to invite you and a guest to come in again at no cost to see for yourself that we have taken your feedback seriously and that we are capable of providing a much better dining experience.
Please contact me directly if you are open to revisiting our restaurant.

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
jbarajas@ilfo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good Italian food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Il Fornaio is located in the Reston Town Center, just outside Washington, DC. I was there on business and several of us had dinner due to its convenient location, near our hotel. The restaurant was packed on a weekday night so I highly recommend making a reservation. The food was good with traditional dishes, like pasta, done very well. The pizza is done in an hot oven, in alignment with the name. The wine list was long but prices seemed too high for a visitor. The service was good with the waiter trying (unsuccessfully) to sell us on overpriced anti pasto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.