We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carabbas Italian Grill

Carabbas Italian Grill
12192 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190
(703) 464-7909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 120 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

a good chain...the one here is clean. The Marsella is great. Good Calimari ..All in all better than average for a chain.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    35
    13
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DETBoulder
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just "OK"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was staying in a hotel nearby and ate here two nights in a row.

On the first night I ordered soup and salad to go one night, and both the salad and the chicken soup were very good. I was disappointed that they did not include bread with my order.

The next night I ate here and ordered pizza, which was really bad. There was too mach sauce, and I had to lift up the cheese and scrape off the excess. The sauce wasn't very good at all, and the crust became soggy because of all of the sauce.

Service here was inconsistent. The takeout staff was very friendly, but in the restaurant, the staff was very inexperienced and twice forgot to bring me parts of my meal. I had to wait for someone to bring me salad dressing, which they forgot, and by the time the dressing came, my meal was being served.

I'd say that like most chains these days, the food is way over-priced for the quality and service you receive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good for the family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Inexpensive, good food, reliable service and consistent. You know what you are going to get when you eat here, no surprises just basic good Italian American food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great downhome italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is never disappointing. Cooking just like your italian mother-in-law makes. Casual, family. comfortable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Carrabba's has outstanding service to go with it's excellent food. The prices are beyond reasonable and you certainly get your money's worth with taste and portion! I love to eat at the pasta bar where you get a free "show" watching the cooks (and normally get a free sample while waiting for your order). Also, mostly known to regulars - the pasta bar is first come, first serve seating. Many times we have walked right by scores of people waiting and sat right down. I personally think they are the best seats in the house.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carabbas Italian Grill also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Carabbas Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carabbas Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.