We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "OK"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carabbas Italian Grill

Carabbas Italian Grill
12192 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190
(703) 464-7909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 129 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
DETBoulder
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just "OK"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was staying in a hotel nearby and ate here two nights in a row.

On the first night I ordered soup and salad to go one night, and both the salad and the chicken soup were very good. I was disappointed that they did not include bread with my order.

The next night I ate here and ordered pizza, which was really bad. There was too mach sauce, and I had to lift up the cheese and scrape off the excess. The sauce wasn't very good at all, and the crust became soggy because of all of the sauce.

Service here was inconsistent. The takeout staff was very friendly, but in the restaurant, the staff was very inexperienced and twice forgot to bring me parts of my meal. I had to wait for someone to bring me salad dressing, which they forgot, and by the time the dressing came, my meal was being served.

I'd say that like most chains these days, the food is way over-priced for the quality and service you receive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    30
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good for the family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Inexpensive, good food, reliable service and consistent. You know what you are going to get when you eat here, no surprises just basic good Italian American food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great downhome italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is never disappointing. Cooking just like your italian mother-in-law makes. Casual, family. comfortable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Carrabba's has outstanding service to go with it's excellent food. The prices are beyond reasonable and you certainly get your money's worth with taste and portion! I love to eat at the pasta bar where you get a free "show" watching the cooks (and normally get a free sample while waiting for your order). Also, mostly known to regulars - the pasta bar is first come, first serve seating. Many times we have walked right by scores of people waiting and sat right down. I personally think they are the best seats in the house.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I ordere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I ordered from Carrabba's twice while I stayed at a nearby hotel and the meals were delicious. Had the veal and scallops one day and lasagna the other. The ingredients were fresh and it felt like I was eating home-cooked meals. Thumbs up

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carabbas Italian Grill also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Carabbas Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carabbas Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.