We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafesano

Cafesano
11130M South Lakes Drive, South Lakes Village Center, Reston, VA 20191
703-391-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Cafesano serves fresh Mediterranean cuisine in an upscale cafe environment located on Lake Thoreau in the South Lakes Village Center in Reston, Virginia. Our hours are from 11-9 Monday through Saturday and 11-8 on Sunday. Enjoy our freshly made Pizza, Mezza, Panini, Wraps, Salads and Kabobs. There is also a selection of beer and wine. Our patio overlooks Lake Thoreau and there is ample parking. Cafesano. Tastes good. Feels good.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delicious, fresh food, friendly service. Great soups. This place is no longer Reston's best kept secret. They have such a great formula. Line up, pay and leave when you're ready. No having to wait for the check. Beautifully appointed and modern. It can get really busy. Fabulous pizzas. Can't speak highly enough about it. Great job!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Casual restaurant on the waterfront lake in Reston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is so wonderful having a great restaurant in one's own neighborhood. My favorites are the kabob platter, kabob wrap, and the margherita pizza. They have a lovely tiramisu also. It is easy to sit and eat there, inside or outside, or to carry out. I have brought many friends and family there to eat, and without fail, they all have also enjoyed this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite neighborhood hangout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We moved to Reston this summer and Cafesano is hands down our favorite neighborhood go-to. The food is Mediterranean (italian, greek) with great entrees, salads, appetizers, etc. Once you make the difficult decision of what to have (many of the menu items are on display for you to salivate over while you read the menu and wait to order), you order and pay at the counter. But that's where it any resemblance to a 'deli' ends. The atmosphere is wonderful and it feels like a much finer dining restaurant than it is. They somehow manage a very intimate and cozy aura even when it's packed, which on a Friday or Saturday night it often is.

After ordering, you find a seat in the cozy but fairly spacious dining room - or deck, depending on the time of year - enjoy some wine (try the wine sampler for $8-9 or by the glass) from their wine list with its plethora of selections but affordably priced - and wait for your yummy food to be delivered as you would at any sit down restaurant.

Food is consistently fresh and good, atmosphere always fabulous, and you save 20% off the top with no waitstaff to tip. In the summer, enjoy a walk around Lake Audobon and if you can save some of your pita bread from your Roasted Red Pepper hummus or Baba Gannouj, you can feed the ducks :) LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always excellent food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This neighborhood restaurant has a casual atmosphere and excellent food choices for vegetarians. Try the bianca insalata pizza! It's so good, we didn't try anything else on the menu for a very long time. We are glad we did, eventually. We also love the felafal wrap, the greek wrap, the paninis (avocado cheddar, caprese, portobello), and the tzatziki dip is also excellent. It's a great place to unwind with friends and family and the prices are excellent!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great concept, staff need training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A deli-style cafe which we visit from time to time, as it is close to home.
Order at the counter, get a number, etc.etc. Our experience is that staff behind the counter are abrupt and sometimes even rude. The prep ladies are quite friendly and greet when you walk in. Please use real cheese on your pizzas guys! It makes all the difference!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Owner at Cafesano, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Desiree, Thank you for your review. As most restauranteurs will testify, after you get the menu right - training is your biggest challenge. We lost 5 cashiers recently (all college students) and are in a big-time training mode. We are very sorry you had a bad experience at Cafesano. We'll keep trying to correct this issue. We use the highest quality Lioni loaf.mozzarella on our pizzas. It is deliver as a loaf and we shred it ourselves. This makes for a "fresher" cheese. We do not buy shredded mozzarella in bags as most do. Its more expensive this way as there is a lot of labor involved. But, we think its worth it. Again, sorry you didn't like our pizza. However, we use only the finest cheeses. Again, thanks for the "kick in the pants" re the training issue. Paul@cafesano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafesano also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafesano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafesano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.