We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to eat here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Manantial Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Manantial Restaurant
12050 North Shore Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-742-6466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Manantial Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 130 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Tapas, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wiehle Ave.
Description: El Manatial is a family operated restaurant, featuring European Fusion Cuisine. We offer Italian, French and Spanish specialties, including a Tapas bar.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't wait to eat here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The meal was delicious. We started out with Sangria. It was the best Sangria we have had in a long time. I had the Spinach Salad and my husband had the Endive Salad–both were tasty. We both had the Paella. Our only negative is that they substituted Monk Fish for the Lobster and we would have preferred if it had been served differently–like on a hot plate with a slightly “toasted” crust on top. Still it was very flavorful and I think because we had already had a couple of glasses of sangria were feeling pretty good and weren’t complaining about much. I can’t wait to go back and try some of their other dishes. The host seemed to know many of the people dining, that made for a nice atmosphere. The service was also good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    33
    25
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding find in an unlikely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You've heard it a million times: 'Don't let the strip-mall setting fool you...'

Well you're going to hear it again. El Manantial serves up some suprisingly good spanish tapas and cuisine without the fanfare of a DC locale or glitzy surroundings. We've dined here twice now and the salads we tried were very fresh, the paella, while not a traditional burnt-bottom dish was very tasty and the seafood was cooked just perfectly instead of the usual dried and rubbery texture from lesser places. They have a separate tapas menu that has the classics and they do a good job of it in addition to their entrees. The restaurant serves up this food at fair prices with old-world service. This is white tablecloth dining, with more formal waitstaff that is attentive and very friendly. Reasonable wine list, found a great bottle of Rioja that compliments the cuisine well. The interior of the restaurant is decorated in a somewhat eclectic but very comfortable, romantic setting that belies the exterior. Great place for a date night or a special group event.

I only write this review to ensure that this restaurant gets the business it deserves and can stay in business for us to enjoy.. otherwise I would've kept it our secret!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Gem in an unlikely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have to say this was one of the best dining experiences I have had in quite some time in the NoVa area. And to find it so off the beaten path was especially surprising. The food was excellent, both my wife and I enjoyed our entrees, appetizers and dessert immensely. If you go, make sure you try the Tarte Tatin for dessert. It is not on their tray so you need to ask for it. El Manantial is pricier than the average neighborhood restaurant at $100 for a 3 course meal for 2 but well worth it for a fine meal out. Definitely plan on returning again. Note that if you make a reservation 24 hours in advance there are coupons on their website you can use to reduce the cost. ($20 of of 80 or more for dinner). We did not have a reservation and were seated immediately so don't let that stop you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nm
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We walked in on a Friday 6 pm in casual dress without a reservation and although the restaurant was very busy (there were a couple of parties) the host welcomed us graciously. The lighting was romantic and my Paella was very tasty almost like being in Spain. We were served in a reasonable time and the servers kept our bread and drinks filled without intrusion.This upscale Mediterranean fusion place is one I would return to regularly if I lived anywhere near.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food. Very noisy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food is great. Menu has good variety. Prices in line with type of place. Nice if there are no parties going on but twice when we have been there there have been large parties. The noise level makes it difficult for a table of 4 to converse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Manantial Restaurant also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to El Manantial Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Manantial Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.