We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great french bakery/dining establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
1833 Fountain Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-707-0704
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 129 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great french bakery/dining establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of my favorite french bakeries and prefer eating here over panera bread or corner bakery. They have a variety of pastries that are fantastic, but I mainly go there for lunch and or dinner. There's several pasta platters and salads to choose from. Their chicken friand with mushroom sauce is tasty and my favorite salads are the ceaser salad with chicken or the strawberry spinach salad with chicken. I also think that the ingredients are healthier. My favorite soups here are the tomato basil and french onion soup.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable...and the best coconut cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you love french country decor and sitting by the fire like I do then you will love this place. It is served quasi cafeteria style where you can get some foods up front and/or order and pay for the rest that they make and bring to your table. They have always been very friendly every time I have gone there. It is a great place to go just to have coffee and sit by the fire...although you would have trouble passing up their many wonderful desserts, coffee and food. I love the potato galatin. Wonderful! The have really good oatmeal with many different yummy toppings...but it's popular and they have ran out of it several times. Amazingly good french coffee...the best coconut cake ever! Also, all the bread, butter and jam....to help yourself to...ok........ that is rather risky...if you are on a diet...but so good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our favorite spots!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I love to come to this restaurant. The sandwiches are great, and the french toast is to die for. We love the free sample bread and the cozy atmosphere. When in Reston, we always try to stop by this place. Our kids like it as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I always love this place. The guy at the front door taking orders was particularly friendly with great humor. The food came quick, it was delicious as usual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I attended a bridal shower for a friend held at La Madeleine. Even though I have lived in the area for years, I had never been in the restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised. I had a light meal (French onion soup, potato galette, and lemonade), and it was tasty and filling. Several friends ordered more substantial meals (salads and sandwiches), everything looked and smelled good. I like that there was a good selection of menu items. I also like the little alcove that can be reserved for parties -- there is a fireplace, which adds such a nice touch! The staff was pleasant, but not overbearing, I was impressed with how quickly they are able to turn over the tables as it was busy the entire time I was there. It's not the fanciest place in town, but an enjoyable place to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.