We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Asian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bowl Asian Kitchen

Big Bowl Asian Kitchen
11915 Democracy Dr, Reston, VA 20190-5662
703-787-8852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Asian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Reston Town Center.
Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Asian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent variety, good taste and reasonable price. The menu varied to satisfy every pallate. I would go again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    76
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Ordeded Thai food. Pad Thai and Thai Hot Pepper Chicken. They used a lot of vinegar on both dishes. Very blend but salty. they tasted nothing like Thai food. Very disappointed meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious and a little different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant in located in the wonderful Reston Town Center. The food was delicious, service was wonderful. My friends and I really enjoyed it. Rather than authentic Asian, this is sort of Asian fusion, but very fresh and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese / Thai food in Reston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant with some friends in Reston, Virginia. It is a good sized restaurant, and we were a party of 10. The menu is very nice, with many choices of Thai and Chinese food. A few people made their own bowl of vegetables and meat, which the servers then cooked and brought over to our table. I went more traditional, starting out with a very tasty bowl of chicken wonton soup (which was very large for a "small" cup), and then having beef and broccoli. Mine came with Thai jasmine rice, but you can substitute brown rice or fried rice if you like. The food was very good and tasty.

I also had a glass of wine with dinner. They have a decent selection, but I wasn't sure it was kept at the proper temperature, as it did not taste like a Riesling. It was kind of pricey as well, so you might want to skip having wine and concentrate on the delicious food.

They also had issues with dividing up the check among the group, so it took us a while to settle up. Overall, a really good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best if you make your own bowl.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in Reston town center for a meeting, and thought I'd pick up a quick meal to go. I had been in Big Bowl before when I had time to sit down and pick my own stir fry ingedients and that had always been good. Unfortunately I learned that the to-go kung-pao is not made to the same standard. VERY oily and tasted burned. So I'd recommend for sitting down as long as one doesn't mind the noise and not recommend for take out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Asian Kitchen also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Big Bowl Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bowl Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.