We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing to call home about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bowl Asian Kitchen

Big Bowl Asian Kitchen
11915 Democracy Dr, Reston, VA 20190-5662
703-787-8852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Asian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 130 restaurants in Reston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Reston Town Center.
Merrifield, Virginia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good but nothing to call home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The alcoholic drinks are quite costly here. The atmosphere is nice though the music playing wasn't what you typical expect in an Asian restaurant. The service was great! We received a free appetizer because it was our first visit. It was delicious! We received large portions of what we ordered which tasted pretty good. Would I go back again? Probably not but the experience and food was enjoyable enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    39
    56
    22
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The flavor...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My son would consider himself an expert when it comes to Asian food and this restaurant did not meet his standards. (Taste being most important...) The hostess was welcoming and our server was attentive. The atmosphere was busy and fun and we were even offered a free appetizer. The best part of our meal was the spicy (cold) green bean appetizer. However, the strong lemon flavor in our dishes was overwhelming. My kids always eat all of their food or take the leftovers to go. Not this time...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good small plate dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had dinner in Aug 2013. I ordered the vegetable spring roll and fried tofu. The spring roll was cool and crisp. The two sauces were nicely seasoned but not overdone. This was a really good dish. The tofu (I know most people don't like it) was excellent. It was fried crispy/tender served with a savory sauce. I would order the same thing again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Dim sum" good pot stickers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Though the restaurant was busy, we were seated quickly and our food was fresh and hot. The only drawback was the waiter was a little slow in his initial greeting, but he quickly made up for it with his attention to detail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food, Great Value, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We love this place! Most of us had the Teryiaki fried rice bowl and if was a generous portion for lunch. Just tasted fantastic! I also had the Hibiscus Iced Tea that they sample when you come in the door. Loved it! Also one of our family members had allergy issues and our server had great knowledge of the menu an perparation. She even talked with the cook and came back with more suggetions without being asked. I'm actually craving their food while I'm writing this! Cannot wait to go back there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Asian Kitchen also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Big Bowl Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bowl Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.