We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the fun of fondue but they are scaling back on portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Pot Restaurant

Melting Pot Restaurant
11730 Plaza America Dr, Ste 100, Reston, VA 20190-4749
703-435-1277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Melting Pot Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 129 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sunset Hills
Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Love the fun of fondue but they are scaling back on portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You don't get as much bang for your buck anymore, but it's still a favorite spot for special celebrations. Try the flaming turtle fondue!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Totally Overpriced, but Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have been going to The Melting Pot since high school. This was my first time to the Reston location, and the location is great. The food is as good as always, and I have no real complaints besides the fact that it is way overpriced for the portions that you receive. My husband is 6'11 260 lbs, so this is not the place to go to fill him up. But we both enjoyed all of the food very much. We had the Big Night Out America, with the Boston Lager cheese, spinach salad and a ceased salad, the fondue fusion main course, and for dessert, the original chocolate. I am also happy that you don't leave there smelling like food the way you used to back in the day. Great place for Anniversaries or other special occasions and no more than that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place for special times!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is so fun. Its a great place to celebrate anniversaries, birthday's, graduations, etc... This is a great place for a romantic couples night..... or just to get out and have a chocolate fondue snack!!! yummmm

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've visited the Reston Melting Pot many times and it seems to be hit or miss with service. I feel that it's becoming less about the special night out and more about upselling dinner. This Melting Pot location is fairly new and I feel that the overall service has gone down since moving into the new location. I feel that the servers could use a bit more training to try and understand that people are coming in to celebrate a special occasion. It should be more about meeting the customer's needs and being aware of what's going on around them. This particular visit was very very long, so long that we decided to skip dessert because we had to wait so long for dinner. That was kind of sad since we were celebrating a special milestone. I will continue to give this location another try but must say that my expectations are much lower than they used to be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“High Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I don't know if the food was disappointing because we had to make it, or if the ingredients just weren't that great. We did the four course and the waiter was pushy about trying things we simply didn't like. The sauces tasted like they were straight powder mix and the cheese fondue (we got the spinach artichoke) was rather bland. Dessert was awesome though, and I would go back just for the smores fondue. To first timers, you cook your own dinner, if you don't know how to do that, ask for help. Its a little terrifying to have a pot of hot oil boiling away at your dinner table. Get dessert. It redeemed the night for us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Pot Restaurant also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Melting Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Pot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.