We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madarin Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Madarin Inn
1675 Reston Pkwy Ste L, Reston, VA 20194-1626 (Formerly Madarine Inn)
(703) 318-0900
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 133 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reston, Virginia
1 review
“Great Chinese Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Their prices are the lowest I've seen in Northern VA. The egg rolls and General Tso's were great. I really like that they offer small portion sizes as well as the normal size portions. It's somewhat of a hole in the wall but I don't go to Chinese places for the ambiance. This is my new go to place for Chinese food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiehle, VA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“It's The Mandarin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

An absolute bargain! I've been going there for almost 20 years. Excellent take-out Chinese food, very modestly priced. The mid-day specials are an even better bargain!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food, modestly priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

We order take out from here about once a month. Have been a patron for almost 12 years, and the family still loves it. Friendly staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Name is wrong on here, but the food is unbelievable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

It's called "Mandarin." It's a little hole in the wall place that you'd never find if you didn't know it was there...i found it from the previous review, after searching for good Chinese in Reston for about 4 years. It's in an awful strip center, not visible from the road, behind Home Depot and next to Santini's. There are about 4 tables, and the place looks horrendous. It's staffed by a couple of young Chinese women.

I got egg rolls and mu shu pork to go...I waited a long time after I ordered, but that's a good sign...they were actually preparing it to my order rather than zapping it. And it was REALLY GOOD. Tasted very fresh. The mu shu in particular was very flavorful, not the mush that most Chinese places make it. The egg rolls were a little greasy but still pretty good. The prices were very modest; the mu shu was 5.95 I think. I'm going to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX USA
1 review
“BEST Chinese take out in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

Pretty much take out only. Incredibly great chinese take out.
NO MSG - taste is fresh and excellent. If you like chinese, you'll love this place. Unfortunately my wife and I moved to Texas and this is one of the only things we miss about Reston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madarin Inn also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Madarin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madarin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.