We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's

McCormick & Schmick's
11920 Democracy Drive, Reston, VA 20190-5624
703 481 6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 119 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bluemont
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pricey but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Other restaurants in the area had 30 min wait, but we got a table right away here--which usually means not a very popular spot, but we really enjoyed the quiet. The wait staff were very personable and helpful. The stuffed salmon and clam chowder were scrumptious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    44
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ridiculous way to spend a night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Made a resrvation for 8:00. The rude woman asked me to speak up on the phone. We got there promtly at 8:00 and they sat us at a booth that was ridiculously small. About 20 minutes later the waiter asked is what we wanted to drink. We ordered. After about ten minutes and no drink....or water ...the waiter came back and asked if we were ready to order? We said we wanted our drinks first. He then stated the bar was backed up. Um......there was no one in the place. The drinks finally came but we couldn't take the booth anymore. They were great about moving us to a nice table. We ordered food. Let's just say it was aweful. It was a mishmash of salmon, oranges and cream sauce. AWEFUL. My wife had shrimp and said it was just OK. As we were eating the staff were consistently vacuuming around us and moving chairs against ours. RUDE. Needless to say we will never go back and after $212.00 I would rather have bought a new golf club. It may have tasted better as well. I have never written one of these before but I had to call this place out. AWEFUL.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Recognizable restaurant that lived up to it's name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went in for appetizers that evening as we werent that hungry but knew we would be starving later. We had the sliders and quesadilla appetizers. They were excellent portions, cooked to our request and very tasty. The staff was very nice but distant. You had to keep requesting them to stop by versus them checking in on you. Not sure if this the style of the restaurant or simply because we ordered only appetizers. Te place was clean, bright and we could see out the windows to street to window watch people. It was conveninantly located by our hotel which made it the perfect stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Too much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were seated promptly, in one of the booths the best place to be seated. Our waiter introduced himself, then the general manager who was shadowing him that day. Calimari was good, not spectacular, Fresh oysters amazing! Entree's as always perfectly presented and delicious. Our server on the other hand was just too much, he actually bowed as he left every time, almost comical. Overall a wonderful experience. Try the planked salmon, it's proven to be consistenly perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg,
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a very good experience at McCormick & Schmick's. Note that I visited during the slow time, around 4:30pm. But, I enjoyed myself thoroughly. The server was great! Absolutely loved the buttermilk oysters appetizer! I had the Seafood Trio and it was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.