We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's

McCormick & Schmick's
11920 Democracy Drive, Reston, VA 20190-5624
703 481 6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 133 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bluemont
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were seated promptly, in one of the booths the best place to be seated. Our waiter introduced himself, then the general manager who was shadowing him that day. Calimari was good, not spectacular, Fresh oysters amazing! Entree's as always perfectly presented and delicious. Our server on the other hand was just too much, he actually bowed as he left every time, almost comical. Overall a wonderful experience. Try the planked salmon, it's proven to be consistenly perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    38
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg,
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a very good experience at McCormick & Schmick's. Note that I visited during the slow time, around 4:30pm. But, I enjoyed myself thoroughly. The server was great! Absolutely loved the buttermilk oysters appetizer! I had the Seafood Trio and it was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average - bad value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow - what a disappointment. We had our first dining room dinner at McCormick & Schmick's in Reston's town center. We have had dinner in the bar several times and it was fine - nothing fancy. The dining room is usually mobbed but last night it was empty so we decided to try it out. My wife had a very good broiled Parmesan encrusted filet of sole and I ordered a "fresh" grilled Halibut with mango salsa topping. The Halibut arrived somewhat shredded (I guess by the grill - not sure really) and wow was it a small piece. I had high hope for McCormick & Schmick's "fresh" Halibut but instead received a unattractive flavorless thin slab of white fish. Server was very friendly but never refilled our wine glasses?? We talked with our friends about our McCormick & Schmick's dinner and their response was "why did you eat there?" well we expected something better - oh well. We will not eat at McCormick & Schmick's Reston again. The $140 dinner tab was not anywhere near worth the expense. Bon Apetit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistantly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We can always count on McC&Schmick's for an excellent dinning experience with good service. The menu changes to a large extent daily which allows for a lot of variety. These days we go to the Reston location. It is a great place to take out-of-town guests. If you sit in the tables in the main dinning area it is a bit noisy and hard to hold a conversation but the "private" rooms are nice and a booth cuts down on the dinning noise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Reston staple.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everything is very reliable here. There is usually good service, though this can be slow if it's very busy...which it usually is. The food is decent, the atmosphere is decent. It's overpriced...but hey, this is Reston. This is not fine dining, just sort of overpriced upscale pub food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.