We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novelty Dining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
1875 Explorer St, Reston, VA 20190-6277
571-203-0005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 135 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Honolulu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Novelty Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I invited my college age niece and her boyfriend to dinner and although they thought it was fun, I did not enjoy my dining experience. I held our couch seating while they stood in line for food. Once they came back, I leftt and stood in line for my order. We basically ate in shifts. No one cleared tables or cleaned them.
Won't go back in the future, although the food itself is fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bizarre Seating Ruins Great Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Tried it twice. Hated the experience. Very painful. This place is an open seating nightmare. You have to guard your territory with weaponry and barbed wire and yet at the same time go stand in line for each station that you want food from. If you can get through all that you end up with an occasionally excellent dish in the middle of lots of good ones. If you like the bar scene, but want better food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Visit to Vapiano in February, 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was in Reston for some conferences and couldn't get into my restaurant of 1st choice, so my friend and I went to Vapiano. It's an unusual place. They have open seating and no servers. Instead, you get a smart card that you take to the order counter and when you ask the chef for your menu choice, he loads the price on your card. You then wait and watch him prepare your chosen dish for you. Soft drinks are self service as well. When you are finished, you return to the front of the restaurant with your card and proceed to "check out." Well, I chose from the Pasta Gruppo D list, the Scampi E Spinaci. It was OK, I suppose, but a bit bland for my tastes. Quite an unusual place with an unusual concept, but I don't think I'd care to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good if not busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

When it gets busy the lines can be annoying. When I want to go out to dinner I don't want to stand and watch my dinner being cooked after waiting in a long line. With that said, the food is pretty delicious.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“You must try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our third visit to Vapiano in Reston,VA. It is an unusual and very effective model - customers order food - fast food style in a queue - the food is then cooked freshly for each diner. The salad with prawns, cheese and fennel is a must! All the pasta dishes we've had have been good too. It is a good place to eat in a small group - it may not be so good for a large group or a date given that it does not have table service. Fast food style - nice surroundings - fantastic food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.