We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Close to the Airport and Downtown Reston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12190 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Value, Close to the Airport and Downtown Reston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pros: No frills room with combined sitting area, bedroom and kitchen space. Location was close to the downtown and airport with ample parking, Chick-fil A/Carraba nearby and major highway into DC. Easy checkin and no hassle check out. Friendly service staff. Free Wifi with no connection issues for my laptop or phone.

Also, for those who know what it is, the place has Zee TV as one of the channels available to view.

Cons: Room smelled faintly of smoke even though it was non-smoking (room 131). Limited breakfast options.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment from your day to write a review of our hotel and share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we constantly work to find ways to improve and delight our guests. i am glad you had an incredible experience throughout your stay and you enjoyed our location.

At Extended Stay we offer a Grab & Go Breakfast to include: Muffins, Cereal, Fruits ,Coffee, Tea. The breakfast is designed for convenience and portability for our guests so that they can nourish themselves while continuing with their morning.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    53
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
16
6
27
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fares is an engaging resourceful amazing young man with a sincere desire to provide his guests the ultimate experience. A model of Hospitality excellence! The rest of the office staff seems to be cut from the same cloth, the Superman Cape Fares wears.
The facility is in process of up-dating beds and room interiors. Overall, we were delighted. A bargain that is a real value.

Two serious caveats. The weekly maid attention is more "weakly" than desirable. Sometimes no soap replenishment. No toilet paper supplied. Once the shower curtain was removed. Another time the room was not vacuumed. A call to the office resulted in a knock on the door minutes later with a smiling Fares, vacuum in hand.

Second MOST SERIOUS problem: Wi Fi I made well over thirty calls to their internet support provider. The problem required a half hour phone call to reconfigure a nearby wireless router. If the hotel staff was necessary to push a button on the router, the repair could not be made until daylight since the device was in another guest's room.

Insist upon a room with reliable wi fi service.

Room Tip: Insist on reliable Wi Fi router location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We’re so happy that Fares was able to assist you in every possible way he could to make your stay even more comfortable. I apologize that you were disappointed with our housekeeping team.

Our management team is aware of your comments and we are making ongoing effort to ensure all our guests have a stable wifi connection at all times. We pride ourselves in giving the absolute best service every day and ensure you that we will do our best to improve in that area.

We’re very glad that we have been able to demonstrate this to you in many ways and we truly appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have had a very positive experience so far and the staff (Ashley, Brittany, Fares) have been great and have made us feel very welcome. The hotel itself is a great value, free Wifi (not the fastest, but quick enough to surf the web and check email) free membership to the YMCA and I'm told that free breakfast is also included now that the hotel has become an Extended Stay. As part of the switch to the Extended Stay name, new beds and flat screen TV's have been installed (woohoo!). As far as location, there are several restaurants nearby as well as Target and Reston Town Center. I want to mention again how great the staff are, they do everything they can to make you feel welcome and to make sure you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms appear to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Tom - Thank you for taking a moment from your day to write a review of our hotel and share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we constantly work to find ways to engage and delight our guests. We are happy to hear that the staff was able to assist you; we will be sure to thank them.

Thank you again for your excellent comments. We hope that you will continue to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This facility met our needs completely. Close to the airport, Reston, and all the other places we needed to access during our stay. Staff were helpful and pleasant. The room was spacious and allowed us the chance to spread out our stuff as we stayed for a month. A true home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate your review of the hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to the Airport and Reston. We are also glad you enjoyed the spacious room and our staff general warmth and quality service that made you feel at home.

Your feedback is what keeps us on our toes, constantly looking for new ways to enhance the guest experience, so again we would like to thank you for your review of the hotel and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I wont stay here again, despite very friendly check-in staff. The toilet didnt flush correctly (needed 3-4 flushes), the A/C was so loud that I barely slept, and there were a couple durty rags left by the cleaning crey on the console table. Really a dive, needed repair work on exterior (and interior obviously), and no evelvators so you have to lug your suitcases up ourdoor stairwells. Also, a pet peeve: Only shampoo is provided. no conditioner, lotion, etc. So bring your own things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situations you described regarding the the loud A/C in your room and the toilet not functioning properly are truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I met with the staff, and we will be addressing these issues to ensure that they are not repeated.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly, at res@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros: You get what you pay for here. This is a low budget extended stay that includes a free YMCA membership. There is four places to eat out within a 3 minute walk and Reston Town Center can be walked to in about 15-20 minutes along the WO&D trail that has an access point behind the YMCA. This hotel is very convenient to Reston Town Center, Herndon, and IAD. Cons: Do not pay for the high speed internet, it goes out 3-4 times a week and you have to call the ISP yourself and go through a 30 minute trouble shooting session each time. This happens regardless if you purchased the high speed internet. I stayed at this hotel for over 6 weeks and when I asked for a late check out they were unaccomodating, especially since the hotel was not a full capacity.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. I apologize that the internet service was less than satisfactory. In response, I will pass on the concerns to the appropriate parties so that they can be evaluated and rectified where possible. As well, I apologize for any inconvenience you experience with your check-out time; however, our standard check-out time is at 11am. While we always do our best to accommodate requests for late check-outs, we do run at a very high occupancy which often does not allow for these accommodations.

Thank you for your review. We hope to have another opportunity to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

They staff is very friendly and pleasant. We enjoyed the quiet court yard as well as the convenience of having a kitchen in our room. Location is key in VA and we were a short walk to the Reston Town Center where there is always something to do! Even though they don't have a gym you can visit the YMCA next door and use the facilities. The only negative thing about staying here is there is no outside swimming pool. I would definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: court yard rooms do not get good cell phone reception but the view is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Kelly - Thank you for taking a moment from your day to write a review of our hotel and share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we constantly work to find ways to engage and delight our guests. You seem to have had an incredible experience throughout your stay, which we are happy to hear. We are also happy to hear that the staff was able to assist you; we will be sure to thank them.

Thank you again for your excellent comments. We hope that you will continue to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Address: 12190 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites - Reston Hotel Reston
Extended Stay America Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.