We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“toilet didnt work, super-loud A/C unit, dirty rags left in room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12190 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“toilet didnt work, super-loud A/C unit, dirty rags left in room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I wont stay here again, despite very friendly check-in staff. The toilet didnt flush correctly (needed 3-4 flushes), the A/C was so loud that I barely slept, and there were a couple durty rags left by the cleaning crey on the console table. Really a dive, needed repair work on exterior (and interior obviously), and no evelvators so you have to lug your suitcases up ourdoor stairwells. Also, a pet peeve: Only shampoo is provided. no conditioner, lotion, etc. So bring your own things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situations you described regarding the the loud A/C in your room and the toilet not functioning properly are truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I met with the staff, and we will be addressing these issues to ensure that they are not repeated.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly, at res@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    16
    13
    14
See reviews for
18
8
29
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros: You get what you pay for here. This is a low budget extended stay that includes a free YMCA membership. There is four places to eat out within a 3 minute walk and Reston Town Center can be walked to in about 15-20 minutes along the WO&D trail that has an access point behind the YMCA. This hotel is very convenient to Reston Town Center, Herndon, and IAD. Cons: Do not pay for the high speed internet, it goes out 3-4 times a week and you have to call the ISP yourself and go through a 30 minute trouble shooting session each time. This happens regardless if you purchased the high speed internet. I stayed at this hotel for over 6 weeks and when I asked for a late check out they were unaccomodating, especially since the hotel was not a full capacity.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. I apologize that the internet service was less than satisfactory. In response, I will pass on the concerns to the appropriate parties so that they can be evaluated and rectified where possible. As well, I apologize for any inconvenience you experience with your check-out time; however, our standard check-out time is at 11am. While we always do our best to accommodate requests for late check-outs, we do run at a very high occupancy which often does not allow for these accommodations.

Thank you for your review. We hope to have another opportunity to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

They staff is very friendly and pleasant. We enjoyed the quiet court yard as well as the convenience of having a kitchen in our room. Location is key in VA and we were a short walk to the Reston Town Center where there is always something to do! Even though they don't have a gym you can visit the YMCA next door and use the facilities. The only negative thing about staying here is there is no outside swimming pool. I would definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: court yard rooms do not get good cell phone reception but the view is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Kelly - Thank you for taking a moment from your day to write a review of our hotel and share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we constantly work to find ways to engage and delight our guests. You seem to have had an incredible experience throughout your stay, which we are happy to hear. We are also happy to hear that the staff was able to assist you; we will be sure to thank them.

Thank you again for your excellent comments. We hope that you will continue to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

best place to be if you are working away from home . Great location just minutes away from everything I need. Great staff especially Britney the front desk clerk. She is by far the best clerk I have dealt with. She is so friendly and very efficient.It is very refreshing to be treated like a true guest. The courtyard , in the middle of the hotel is a nice spot to escape the confines of the room. There is also a YMCA next door that is free with pass from hotel , nice plus. Bigger kitchens than other extended stay hotels plus a large island is great for computer equip. with room to still eat. I have been here for one year already have checked other places but this place can not be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Larry - Thank you for taking a moment to write a review of our hotel and share your experience with us. I am very glad that you liked our convenient location, just minutes away from everything you needed. As well, it is great to read how helpful and friendly our staff was during your stay, especially Britney. The staff and I truly enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to you doing so again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice courtyard is pleasant in the evening and the service was very good, plus there is a kitchen. It's just down the bike path from Reston Town Center. This was my second time at the hotel. Wifi is free and easy to connect to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Michael - It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. We are so thrilled that you had a wonderful experience, especially since we strive to make all of our guests feel like our hotel is their "home away from home".

Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I travel frequently and Homestead Reston is one of my favorite places that truly delivers a more than pleasant staying experience, every time I stay there. Rooms are clean, no noisy guests and it has an excellent location which is literally minutes away from the Reston town center, where you can fine dine, go catch the latest movie and even ice skate during the winter. Plenty of amenities to take advantage of for both short and long term stays.

If you are looking for an extremely friendly staff who always go the extra mile to make you happy (find Brittaney, best front desk agent ever, a true diamond who is a people pleaser), do not hesitate to reserve a room from Homestead Reston. You won't be sorry, ever.

John, V

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
John - Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff provided you with such a warm welcome and that Brittany took great care of you prior to, and throughout your stay. We pride ourselves on having the best team in Reston, and Brittany is a prime example of that! We will be sure to pass on the positive feedback.


Again, your feedback is very important to us because it allows us to improve every day to be the best we can be. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been staying at the Homestead for years and find it to be a great fit for my needs while working in the NoVa area. Having a kitchen to prepare meals, a gym right next store to use, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, reasonable room rates, and an excellent staff are among the many reasons I return every time. Travel away from home can be trying and stressful, luckily the friendly and helpful demeanor of the staff and the comfort of a familiar environment make the experience a pleasant one.
Thumbs up to Danny, Mefong, Brittany, and Ashley for great customer service !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Scott - Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We are so happy to hear that the staff was able to assist you, and will be sure to thank them. As well, I am glad that you found time to try the gym right next door and enjoyed our location, with easy access to fine dining, fast food restaurants, stores across the street and more,

Thank you again. We hope that you will come back and join us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Hyatt Regency Reston
#1 of 4 in Reston
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Reston Heights
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Reston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#9 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Address: 12190 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites - Reston Hotel Reston
Extended Stay America Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.