We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12190 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Reston
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've been reading some other comments regarding this hotel (dirty, smelly, old, etc) but I think that the most valuable of this place is the human confort and warm welcome that you receive when you are here. The people is by far more friendly than any other place and you really feel like at your own home (dirty, smelly, old) but your lovable home. :) Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Homestead Washington, D.C. - Reston. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    47
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
4
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I fully enjoyed my visit here. The rooms are a bit old and not super fancy, but the fridge and kitchenette were very convenient. Location is fantastic right near the "Washington Old Dominion Trail" just 15 minutes walk into the center, and right opposite the YMCA for some exercise.

Staff were super friendly and helpful, and the free wireless worked perfectly well for me ... 90KB/s were good enough for YouTube, just during the peak hours there were some hickups but still good enough for browsing.

For me, this was just perfect for a 5 day business stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Homestead Washington, D.C. - Reston. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccione, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed in Homestead for over a month in April and May 2011.
I had a room for smokers, but honestly I couldn't stay in there, the odor from the previous smokers was so disgusting, that I often thought to change it for a non-smoker room (at least I bought some stuff to neutralize the odor, but couldn't have done this the staff?)
IIn Mid May there appeared some bugs in my bathroom, the staff said, they are completely homeless and entered from the main door. (I often left the main door open, because of the odor)
The kitchen was not really equipped, as it should have been, but anyway.

The place has a very good location, is really near to a Target, to a gas station, YMCA gym, running path and to Reston itself, where to take a bus to get to DC.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, the restaurants and eating places nearby are enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We looked at reviews before we made our decision for a two-nite stay. It got mediocre reviews, but nothing bad. Seemed like a reasonably-priced, decent place to stay. And the other close-by options were all at least $40-50 more a night. And btw, remember to check the bed bug registry while you're looking at your options. The Hyatt Regency in Reston is listed with multiple reports of bed bugs. Anyway, we didn't have high expectations about the Homestead, but we figured it would be clean and inexpensive. Well, we got there, checked in and went to our room (access is from the outside). As soon as we opened the door, we were met with a really bad smell. Not just musty, but like something was decaying. I stood in the doorway as my husband walked further into the room. As he walked into the kitchen area, I saw a huge black bug scuttle across the floor behind him. I'm guessing it was a roach or a huge waterbug, but I didn't wait to find out. We immediately decided to leave. As my husband came towards me, he spotted another bug by the window. Needless to say, when the reservation desk attendant asked us if we wanted a different room, we said no way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC mtns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have stayed here before and once again I am very impressed with this gem of a hotel. If you are looking for glitz and ritz, go elsewhere - but for cleanliness, service, location, and value, this is the best around! Daniel manned the front desk with the smooth efficiency, warmth, and professionalism that we have come to expect from Manager Tilma Ramos' team. Just around the corner from the Reston Towne Center, it cannot be beat for convenience. The combination of a staff who truly cares for their guests and a great location makes this an outstanding value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for 1 week on business/training trip. Wasn't aware that you only get housekeeping service once a week. Very noisy day and night near the office. Office has an after-hours intercom that is very loud. Woke me up several times during the week. Sometimes multiple times a night. Reported to front desk...said they would report to management. Never heard from them again, won't go back.

Room Tip: If you stay...request a room as far away from the office as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Arrived at 11 pm. Front desk guy was helpful and efficient but when I arrived to the room I was very dissapointed. It felt old and dated. I was there by myself on a business trip and the moment I came in, I also felt like leaving. I was supposed to stay there for two nights but checked out after the first night and went to a nicer place, that has breakfast included too (important feature when on a business trip).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston

Address: 12190 Sunset Hills Road, Reston, VA 20190 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites - Reston Hotel Reston
Extended Stay America Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.