We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice open park and man-made pond - great big bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Fairfax Park

Lake Fairfax Park
1400 Lake Fairfax Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Reston
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice open park and man-made pond - great big bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Overall a nice park and it has everything you think a park should have and be. Has a man-made pond that you can rent canoes in the summer. Camp sites are a bit close together, but each as a rock firepit ready for you plus a grill. The big bathrooms are the real big plus as you have room to take a shower, change and have your own individual compartment. They are also kept super clean.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A few days in campground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this campground in a Class A motorhome w/4 slides for 4 days while visiting Herndon, VA. This was the closest park we could find. It was a very nice location, on top of the hill above the lake. We arrived after water park was closed, so the roads in the park were only busy after work hours for ball fields and skate board park and lots of people on the weekend. But always a quiet campground. Many tents, tag-along, and fifth wheels but was no problem for our larger rig. Lower rating because only electric (50 watts for us) were at the level gravel sight with potable water at host sight only but used by everyone for fill-up and one dump station behind the campground bathroom/showers. Lots of deer wanders campground not pleasing to my pet but never bothered anything around our campsite. The host were very helpful and friendly. Most of the other campers kept to themselves, but lots of campfires at night. The city of Reston is full of trees and nice homes. Being a bedroom community, commuter traffic before and after work was a little heavy, but traveling around during the day was no problem. Easy to get into DC and other local historical areas. Would stay again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Virginia's Closest RV and Campground to Washington, DC !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here in early June and loved it! Great facility, beautiful park, and half the price of comparable campgrounds in Maryland. My kids loved the wild life, but the park did feel a bit crowded on Saturday. No doubt, we'll be coming back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Okay place for a family picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The lake is a nice attraction, especially if you want to fish.

Lake Fairfax park can get crowded on the weekends. I was attending a birthday party for a child and it was difficult to find "my" crowd among so many. Good parking.

Frankly, I prefer Great Falls National Park, about 10 minutes away, on the Potomac River.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Meh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family went to check out the park as we heard that there is camping available there. There were quite a few tent campers out this past weekend. The sites were not private sites. It looked like an open area where you just setup camp. There was a nice view of the lake from the campsites. I am sure there must have been restrooms facilities nearby, but I didn't see them. There are large fields to place soccer, baseball, football, etc. There is also a outdoor waterpark and a place where you can rent paddleboats.

Nice place to visit for the day, but we won't be camping here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Fairfax Park also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Lake Fairfax Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Fairfax Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.