We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in campground” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Fairfax Park

Lake Fairfax Park
1400 Lake Fairfax Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Reston
Attraction details
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A few days in campground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this campground in a Class A motorhome w/4 slides for 4 days while visiting Herndon, VA. This was the closest park we could find. It was a very nice location, on top of the hill above the lake. We arrived after water park was closed, so the roads in the park were only busy after work hours for ball fields and skate board park and lots of people on the weekend. But always a quiet campground. Many tents, tag-along, and fifth wheels but was no problem for our larger rig. Lower rating because only electric (50 watts for us) were at the level gravel sight with potable water at host sight only but used by everyone for fill-up and one dump station behind the campground bathroom/showers. Lots of deer wanders campground not pleasing to my pet but never bothered anything around our campsite. The host were very helpful and friendly. Most of the other campers kept to themselves, but lots of campfires at night. The city of Reston is full of trees and nice homes. Being a bedroom community, commuter traffic before and after work was a little heavy, but traveling around during the day was no problem. Easy to get into DC and other local historical areas. Would stay again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antiquechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Virginia's Closest RV and Campground to Washington, DC !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here in early June and loved it! Great facility, beautiful park, and half the price of comparable campgrounds in Maryland. My kids loved the wild life, but the park did feel a bit crowded on Saturday. No doubt, we'll be coming back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walsh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Okay place for a family picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The lake is a nice attraction, especially if you want to fish.

Lake Fairfax park can get crowded on the weekends. I was attending a birthday party for a child and it was difficult to find "my" crowd among so many. Good parking.

Frankly, I prefer Great Falls National Park, about 10 minutes away, on the Potomac River.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovesHippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Meh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family went to check out the park as we heard that there is camping available there. There were quite a few tent campers out this past weekend. The sites were not private sites. It looked like an open area where you just setup camp. There was a nice view of the lake from the campsites. I am sure there must have been restrooms facilities nearby, but I didn't see them. There are large fields to place soccer, baseball, football, etc. There is also a outdoor waterpark and a place where you can rent paddleboats.

Nice place to visit for the day, but we won't be camping here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 777zba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and lots to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lake Fairfax is a lovely place to just walk around the lake and enjoy the views. But, there are also a lot of things to do, from fishing in a well stocked lake to the new skateboarding facility for the younger set.
Great campgrounds and even ballfields.

Wonderful for all-day family outings, or just a leisurely walk and some birding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Fairfax Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Fairfax Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing