We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia's Closest RV and Campground to Washington, DC !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Fairfax Park

Lake Fairfax Park
1400 Lake Fairfax Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Reston
Attraction details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Virginia's Closest RV and Campground to Washington, DC !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here in early June and loved it! Great facility, beautiful park, and half the price of comparable campgrounds in Maryland. My kids loved the wild life, but the park did feel a bit crowded on Saturday. No doubt, we'll be coming back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Okay place for a family picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The lake is a nice attraction, especially if you want to fish.

Lake Fairfax park can get crowded on the weekends. I was attending a birthday party for a child and it was difficult to find "my" crowd among so many. Good parking.

Frankly, I prefer Great Falls National Park, about 10 minutes away, on the Potomac River.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Meh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family went to check out the park as we heard that there is camping available there. There were quite a few tent campers out this past weekend. The sites were not private sites. It looked like an open area where you just setup camp. There was a nice view of the lake from the campsites. I am sure there must have been restrooms facilities nearby, but I didn't see them. There are large fields to place soccer, baseball, football, etc. There is also a outdoor waterpark and a place where you can rent paddleboats.

Nice place to visit for the day, but we won't be camping here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and lots to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lake Fairfax is a lovely place to just walk around the lake and enjoy the views. But, there are also a lot of things to do, from fishing in a well stocked lake to the new skateboarding facility for the younger set.
Great campgrounds and even ballfields.

Wonderful for all-day family outings, or just a leisurely walk and some birding.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Wildlife Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Come here if you love wildlife but don't need a park that feels isolated. There's a surprising amount of wildlife here in the summer months: five-lined and broadhead skinks, water snakes, bullfrogs, green frogs, three species of turtles, lots of dragonflies. Swallows dip and sway over the lake and occasionally you luck out and hear a belted kingfisher. The meadow offers kingbirds, bluebirds, and great crested flycatchers in the spring.

In the summer months, the picnic grounds can get crowded and there's some noise from the water park as well. It's a good place to go if you are a single woman and don't want to feel isolated.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Fairfax Park also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Lake Fairfax Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Fairfax Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.