We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FISHING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Fairfax Park

Lake Fairfax Park
1400 Lake Fairfax Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Reston
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Bealeton, Virginia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“FISHING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

went here several times enjoying the trout fishing program...one thing to watch for if you bring your wife /GF is when you approach the bank there are snakes in the bushes overhanging the water and they drop in the water...it will scare them. I have NEVER been bitten or hissed at in four + years I've been going there..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice choice in the community”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice place to walk, ride the carousel ( very old but kids love it), good local camping spot especially with young children

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great family park in Fairfax County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lake Fairfax has everything, boats, camping, hiking trails, plenty of sport fields, carousel, camping and the water park. You can definitely find things to do at this park and it is a wonderful space for those summer picnics etc. The restroom facilities have been updated and I would highly recommend a visit to Lake Fairfax.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Rode Turkey Trot ride Sunday afater Thanksgiving. I have to say the runners, bike riders and others on the trail were so sensitive to the horses. They were great.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Spacious but trail is not clearly marked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lake Fairfax has a waterpark, and it's great for kids. It also has a campground. I took my dog there several times, and it took me awhile to find the trail, which is not clearly marked. When I found it, it ended behind the campground area, and in order to get back to where I parked, I had to either back track on the trail or walk through the campground to the parking area down this walkway than back to my car. It's not a place for serious hiking.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Fairfax Park also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Lake Fairfax Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Fairfax Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.