We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole

Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole
1400 Lake Fairfax Dr., Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Reston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I took a 4-yo, a 11-yo, and a 13-yo to the Watermine, and fun was had by all. Bring your own towels, can bring in food. We did it as a double-feature, paired with Reston Zoo, which is right next door. The Watermine is open now (mid-august) from 12 noon, so we did the zoo first, then lunch, then waterpark. Spent 2 hours in the water. The kids loved it. Lots of lifeguards is a plus, but for enjoyable time with small, non-swimming children, I would recommend a 1:1 adult-to-nonswimmer ratio. They have a kiddie pool, too, but the little ones need to be supervised 100%. My 4-yo had his flotation thing on, and was able to really have a great time in the lazy river, and in all areas of the pool, with me next to him. The water is only 4' deep, at its deepest, but still too deep for him, so a flotation device, and a watchful eye from me were necessary. It was not at full capacity, since we came on a weekday, and just as they opened. We had lots of room and no lines. I bet it does get pretty crowded, though, since it is rather small. We paid about $50, for all four of us. I thought, it was well worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went there with our 4 & 10 year-old boys. It is very small but the kids really enjoyed themselves. We spent like 5 or 6 hours there. What I liked the most is that there are so many life guards for such a small place. My kids know how to swim but it is always nice to see your kids in the safe surrounding.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great place for a family with young kids (ours are 4 and 6) to spend one of DC's many HOT summer days. There is plenty of swimming, splashing and sliding to do (favorite = "lazy river"), the lifeguards are very strict and actually paying attention (there was a real rescue while we were there), the price is reasonable, and the water is just cool enough to be refreshing, but not cold. The only real down sides are that it's crowded (we went on Sunday July 7th) and there are not enough shade umbrellas, so you have to get there as soon as it opens to get a good spot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great fun but watch the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lazy river, waterfalls, slides, pizza - what's not to like on a hot summer day. It can get packed so go on a weekday if possible - but on weekends watch the kids because it gets a bit frenetic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great family spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a nice waterpark to take your family. It is always clean and the lifeguards are attentive. Tip: Get there early to get a good spot, or go later in the day. There can lots of day campers there and it can get crowded very quickly! There is a good snack shop with several different food options.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole also viewed

McLean, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.