We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole

Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole
1400 Lake Fairfax Dr., Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Reston
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went there with our 4 & 10 year-old boys. It is very small but the kids really enjoyed themselves. We spent like 5 or 6 hours there. What I liked the most is that there are so many life guards for such a small place. My kids know how to swim but it is always nice to see your kids in the safe surrounding.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great place for a family with young kids (ours are 4 and 6) to spend one of DC's many HOT summer days. There is plenty of swimming, splashing and sliding to do (favorite = "lazy river"), the lifeguards are very strict and actually paying attention (there was a real rescue while we were there), the price is reasonable, and the water is just cool enough to be refreshing, but not cold. The only real down sides are that it's crowded (we went on Sunday July 7th) and there are not enough shade umbrellas, so you have to get there as soon as it opens to get a good spot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great fun but watch the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lazy river, waterfalls, slides, pizza - what's not to like on a hot summer day. It can get packed so go on a weekday if possible - but on weekends watch the kids because it gets a bit frenetic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great family spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a nice waterpark to take your family. It is always clean and the lifeguards are attentive. Tip: Get there early to get a good spot, or go later in the day. There can lots of day campers there and it can get crowded very quickly! There is a good snack shop with several different food options.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Well run and lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have taken two young children for three years now and always have a great time. There is lots to do and safety is a big concern with a break every hour to clear the pool and help the kids wind down and snack.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.