We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"it changed"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole

Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole
1400 Lake Fairfax Dr., Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Reston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"it changed"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

i use to go there as a kid, but now its a complete rip off. Its very expensive for a full day. There are way too many kids that take a "dump" in the pool everyday from this, They always close the pool, and when they do, its for at least 2 hours. They have older teenage lifeguards that don't notice much that goes on. There are never enough shaded or just plain seats, you have to sit on the dirty grass and get sunburned to death. There are always swarmed bugs that follow you everywhere you go, and the little pizza shop they have there ALWAYS runs out of supplies, like smoothies and even just plain pizza.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of good clean water fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Pros: Great lazy river and decent slides.
Cons: Can get crowded on week-ends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a fun day for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We are locals who visit here a few times each summer. The kids (ages 2-6) always enjoy it. It's a nice size, clean, convenient, fun and relatively inexpensive. The downside is that it can get quite crowded at peak hours, so you need to arrive about 15-20 minutes before open or later in the day. Lifeguards are EXTREMELY attentive and seem to keep the place running well.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome place for whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

2 year in a row, we had as much fun as the kids. Great park!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, always clean and safe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We love the Water Mine and go often.

The toddler area is completely separate and gated. The lazy river is wonderful. We usually go in without tubes and let the kids doggy paddle around. They love it! The big pool has lots of slides, none of them too wild. There is a shaded area with a bench so you can sit in the water and relax. There is another roped area where the kids can climb and cross some neat water features.

Everything is always very clean. There are an impressive number of lifeguards on duty and even though they are young, they are always on point. I have never seen any of them goofing off or doing anything other than their job. Very impressive.

We love that the admission is good all day even if you leave and come back. We can get there in the morning, go home for naps, and head back in the late afternoon. Perfect for us since we have young toddlers.

We also love that we can bring food and drinks. They do have a snack bar and a pizza wagon but we've never taken advantage of them.

There are plenty of lounge chairs and about half of them are in the umbrella shade. We spend most of the time in the water so I don't mind if we don't get a chair in the shade. There is also plenty of grass area if you rather bring camping chairs or a picnic blanket. There is also plenty of room if you are bringing a stroller.

I have been stuck in a few long lines but if you get there early in the morning of after a rest break the line usually isn't too bad. At least during the week! Weekends are usually busy all day.

The admission fee is very reasonable considering the flexiblity you get. We are most definitely getting season passes next year. We've been looking for a public pool membership and the Water Mine season pass for a family of 4 will cost us HALF of any of the public pools! About halfway through the summer they put a $2 off coupon on the website so look for that!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole also viewed

McLean, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.