We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good clean water fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole

Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole
1400 Lake Fairfax Dr., Reston, VA 20190
703-471-5415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Reston
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Herndon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of good clean water fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Pros: Great lazy river and decent slides.
Cons: Can get crowded on week-ends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a fun day for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We are locals who visit here a few times each summer. The kids (ages 2-6) always enjoy it. It's a nice size, clean, convenient, fun and relatively inexpensive. The downside is that it can get quite crowded at peak hours, so you need to arrive about 15-20 minutes before open or later in the day. Lifeguards are EXTREMELY attentive and seem to keep the place running well.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome place for whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

2 year in a row, we had as much fun as the kids. Great park!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, always clean and safe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We love the Water Mine and go often.

The toddler area is completely separate and gated. The lazy river is wonderful. We usually go in without tubes and let the kids doggy paddle around. They love it! The big pool has lots of slides, none of them too wild. There is a shaded area with a bench so you can sit in the water and relax. There is another roped area where the kids can climb and cross some neat water features.

Everything is always very clean. There are an impressive number of lifeguards on duty and even though they are young, they are always on point. I have never seen any of them goofing off or doing anything other than their job. Very impressive.

We love that the admission is good all day even if you leave and come back. We can get there in the morning, go home for naps, and head back in the late afternoon. Perfect for us since we have young toddlers.

We also love that we can bring food and drinks. They do have a snack bar and a pizza wagon but we've never taken advantage of them.

There are plenty of lounge chairs and about half of them are in the umbrella shade. We spend most of the time in the water so I don't mind if we don't get a chair in the shade. There is also plenty of grass area if you rather bring camping chairs or a picnic blanket. There is also plenty of room if you are bringing a stroller.

I have been stuck in a few long lines but if you get there early in the morning of after a rest break the line usually isn't too bad. At least during the week! Weekends are usually busy all day.

The admission fee is very reasonable considering the flexiblity you get. We are most definitely getting season passes next year. We've been looking for a public pool membership and the Water Mine season pass for a family of 4 will cost us HALF of any of the public pools! About halfway through the summer they put a $2 off coupon on the website so look for that!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Water Mine is located within Lake Fairfax park which is located in a fairly ritzy area of Northern VA. If I was looking for a campground outside of DC, this is where I would come. The Water Mine is fairly cheap (print out the coupon on the FX Co website) and maintained by the county, which in Fairfax County means strictly following health and safety guidelines. Bathrooms are clean and the pools are nice and clean. There are lockers outside the bathroom which are handy. You will have to wait in line. I suggest getting there around 9:30 am if it's a nice day. Once you get in the park, do not dilly dally- go right for the lounge chairs under the umbrellas. Stake out your spot and then put your valuables in the locker and then have fun. There is a small pool for the little ones with a squirter and a zero entry area to the bigger pool with an umbrella feature spraying water. Can't comment on the food- we have always brought a picnic which saves some cash.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Mine Family Swimmin' Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.