We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalypso's

Kalypso's
1617 Washington Plaza, Reston, VA 20190
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #53 of 127 restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is my neighborhood "go to" restaurant. The food is excellent with generous portions. Suprisingly good Italian food and the Lake Anne Pizza is a must. There are bands on the weekends and trivia nights during the week. Awesome place to watch football on the weekend - don't miss the gyro sliders.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    9
    15
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
1 review
“Great lakeside restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The souvlaki and gyros were great. It also provided a great view to watch Santa arrive via boat during a Christmas market. We'll definitely return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sat. afternoon with several friends at the Kalypsos Sports Tavern in Reston, VA. You had your choice of eating inside or outside. With the great weather, we were outside. Several of us order the Gyro sandwich which came with Fantastic fries (they had just the right amount of salt), the side salad was extra. I also had a soda. The whole meal with tax was under $14.00. The service was quick and our waiter came back several times to refill the water glasses, take plates and get more soda. They have a big menu with lots of choices. And while it's a sports bar, if you're outside you don't even notice that detail. The patio where we were overlooked one end of Lake Anne. My friends and I have decided to come here back next month for another meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Second time after mini-golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This a second time that friends and I gathered for dinner after doing mini-golf nearby. This time was before Football time this past weekend.

Service can be a hit or miss...

A late Sunday afternoon with friends can be spoiled by the drunks that come for only the game...

the food was decent....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Last time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was my third and final visit to this restaurant. Today we had an early dinner (late afternoon) and it was not a pleasant experience.
Table cloth and napkins had stains. Waiter handed drinks and dishes to each of us instead of placing them on the table; dishes piled up on the table as the waiter never removed them when new food arrived -- we had to ask him to remove the plates. After the entrees were served, there were several people in loud discussion about party they were setting up for. They began moving tables and chairs around us. Time to go... Why did they seat us in that area? Food ok, nothing special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalypso's also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Kalypso's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalypso's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.