We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“48 Thumbs Up!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gregorio's Trattoria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gregorio's Trattoria
1428 Northpoint Village Ctr, Reston, VA 20194
+1 703-689-4894
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 119 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Gregorio's Trattoria is a local, family-owned restaurant where we want you to feel right at home, like you're eating at our house or our Trattoria (trat-to-ri-a, an informal restaurant or tavern serving simple Italian dishes). Our goal is to create a comfortable, warm atmosphere with consistently fresh, delicious food and outstanding service. Owner Greg Kahn and staff will do everything possible to make your visit a pleasure from the moment you walk in the door. We're not a franchise restaurant, and serve only the freshest food made with locally grown ingredients whenever possible. And because not every guest has the same culinary tastes and requirements, we're happy to prepare your food your way, whether it's gluten-free pasta on your plate or extra cheese on your lasagna. Please let anyone on our staff know what you need. Look for new and exciting menu items to come, and be sure to tell Greg your favorite. If you'd like to see something in particular on the menu, we'd love to hear your suggestions.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“48 Thumbs Up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

If 24 people ordering almost as many different entrees all come away happy, you know a restaurant is doing something right.

The women’s club my wife belongs to recently organized a dinner at Gregorio’s Trattoria for a dozen of their members (accompanied by a dozen dutiful long-suffering husbands). It was the middle of the long Memorial Day weekend, and although it seemed only two waiters were on duty, service was quick, efficient, and friendly. Kudos to them and the chefs for getting so many different orders out to us all within a few minutes of each other.

Our orders ranged far and wide across Gregorio’s menu, from pasta to seafood to meat, so it was a good test of the restaurant’s kitchen. The house salads most of us started with were fine if perhaps a little run of the mill. The main courses, however, were stand-outs. They included entrees as diverse as veal piccata, penne vodka, seafood ravioli, braised beef short rib, mussels, chicken marsala, and the old standby of spaghetti with meatballs. Everyone compared notes on their food, and everyone was thoroughly pleased. My veal piccata, for example, was three generous pieces of tender veal in a very tasty sauce.

As someone who grew up in an Italian area of New York City, I am pretty confident in saying that Gregorio’s could more than hold its own and thrive against similar competitors in such big city ethnic neighborhoods. Good, reasonably priced Italian food isn’t all that common in northern Virginia, which makes the presence of a restaurant like Gregorio’s all the more welcome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oriental, North Carolina
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Changed names”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The name has changed but the restaurant hasn't, same ownership. mediocre Italian food ok pizza there are better italian restaurants in the Herndon Reston area. I will say the service is good and the bar drinks ample. My first name is Tony I wouldn't recommend this place for the best italian in the area. Also a bit pricey

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg K, Owner at Gregorio's Trattoria, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take our customer feedback very seriously and are always looking to improve in any way that we can. Be on the lookout for new, delicious items to our menu with weekly specials! We hope you will give us another try, we'd love to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Tucked away in a plaza off Reston Parkway, it's easy to miss, but don't! It has a nice neighborhood, friendly feel with good value. Pizza is very good. Pasta is great too! Staff is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg K, Owner at Gregorio's Trattoria, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always want our guests to feel right at home when they are dining with us and we're so happy you enjoy the friendly feel of our restaurant. Thank you for your compliments to our food and service. We hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good pizza & fabulous garlic bread & top service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Ate with a group of ladies and the waitress was always right on top of things. The pizza was excellent and the garlic bread was to die for. So good but not good for the diet!!! A comfortable neighborhood place with a back room for folks with a bigger crowd. Not too noisy. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg K, Owner at Gregorio's Trattoria, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food and service. We want our guests to feel right at home when they dine with us and we hope you will join us again soon! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We Always Love Our Meals here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We travel from Vienna VA to Reston to eat here often. We typically order salad, a pasta meal..often with seafood since they do such a great job with them, and a pizza thin crust. We share a salad and the one pasta meal...which leaves just enough room for one piece of pizza for me and a couple for my husband...and take the rest home for a WONDERFUL second meal since their pizza is soooo good. They didnt disappoint!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregorio's Trattoria also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Gregorio's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gregorio's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.