We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for walking, dining, shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reston Town Center

Reston Town Center
11900 Market Street, Reston, VA 20190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Reston
Type: Malls
Attraction Details
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great place for walking, dining, shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is always somethingngoingnon at the town center. At Christams there is the beautifully decorated tree and skating rink. In summer there are the outdoor cares and live music in the town square. There are lots of great restaurants, stores, cinema choices and parking spots ( in the central garage which is free and walkable to anywhere.)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    14
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you want everything a suburban mall embodies...this is for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Imagine walking streets with corporate sounding names, enormous parking lots and restaurants the size of airplane hangers sprinkled with nothing but chain stores and chain high end restaurants and you have the Reston Town Center. The place is PACKED with people, locals and those either going to or coming from Dulles. There is NO street parking at all, but the highrise parking garages are free and clean and seem safe.

So am I complaining or extolling? Since I live in a suburb of New York City I knew almost all the stores and my daughter was pleased with the selection. Everybody was friendly, everything was clean, no garbage on the streets, no dog poop, even birds must wear birdie undies.

It would be better, in my opinion, if there were some stores selling locally-based goods. How many Jos. A Banks do we need? By the way, to be completely honest, I buy much of my clothes from Bank.

There was nothing "Virginia" about Reston Town Mall and nothing wrong with what was there. I just wish there were other things not there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just a bit of Reston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The town center is such a delight because it is not a Tanger Outlet mall type attraction. There are specialty shops, Anthropology which is a personal favorite that is not located in my hometown, and several clothiers. The streets are clean, safe, and, although it was not available on the day of my visit, there is the attraction of live music on weekends. It is a hot spot and if you have a chance...check it out for yourself and enjoy !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot when traveling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was somewhat surprised to see all the negative reviews. The place wasn't intended to be Greenwich Village in Manhattan. I travel a good bit for work and come to Reston 5 or 6 times a year. What a pleasure to walk out of the back of the Hyatt and have numerous options to eat or spend the evening, with the little free time I have when traveling. Corporate, sure. Soulless, as one reviewer commented, that seems a little harsh. It is a preplanned retail community with a mixture of medium to higher end establishments of the well known, formulaic variety. With that in mind, they did a good job. The number of vsitors certainly seems to indicate a success Much better than room service at the hotel I would love to see some of the other places I frequent try something similar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bland identikit soulless - its an open air mall after all!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I'm sorry. This is a soulless place. Maybe its my fault for expecting more but there you are.

Can't give it less that 3 points because although I really didn't like it there was nothing inherently wrong with it.

It is what it is. A mall. Loads of restaurants and shops selling stuff I wouldn't want.

Clean, safe, dull.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reston Town Center also viewed

 

Been to Reston Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reston Town Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reston Town Center to your Saves list