We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum cool refresher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pitango Gelato

Pitango Gelato
11942 Democracy Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-606-9906
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 131 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Healthy, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Pitango Gelato creates authentic gelato focusing on classic Italian flavors rather than novelties or trends. Made with grass-fed organic milk and fresh organic fruit and nuts, our products contain no flavorings, no colorings, nor artificial ingredients of any kind. Pitango also takes its coffee very seriously. We use organic, single-estate beans roasted especially for us in small batches by a local boutique roaster.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yum yum cool refresher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a nice dinner at a nearby restaurant and rather than order dessert there, we walked around the block to Pitango Gelato. Great selections and hard to decide, but our group tried Pistachio and Cardamom. The latter was very delicious, would have enjoyed that selection rather than Pistachio!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am spoiled. I admit it. Having eaten fab gelato while wandering all over Italy, that is my gold standard.

Pitango was...OK. But the prices were higher. I was disappointed in the Straciatella, which is billed not by that name, but by "Vanilla and Chocolate Chunk." Or some such. Instead of the hard, dark chocolate chunks I was expecting, it seemed to be pulverized chocolate with a few bits. It looked like gelato with a bad case of freckles. The vanilla taste was lackluster at best.

Portions are large. Too large, IMHO.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and addictive!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We discovered Pitango when we first moved to the area 18 months ago. The flavor is outstanding and I love that the ingredients are local and/or organic. The coffee is sensational also. In 18 months of coming here we have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was in Italy a few months ago, and this gelato was as good as any had there as well any place here. Would place it among the top gelato finds. Stracciatella was great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very Good Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lots of flavors. I chose two Hazelnut chocolate and pistacchio. Both were creamy and full of flavor. Yes I would recommend going there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitango Gelato also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Pitango Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitango Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.