We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncle Julio's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Julio's

Uncle Julio's
1827 Library St., Reston, VA 20190
703 904 0703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 130 restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Canton, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Uncle Julio's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my experience at Uncle Julio's. I went there with my girlfriend, my best friend, and his girlfriend. We were able to sit outside, which was an added bonus, considering how busy they were. The food was good, and our waiter was magnificent. He was not afraid to sell what was on the menu. He was very knowledgable and was not afraid to give his opinion about the items on the menu, which were very accurate. If we didn't have the waiter we did, the experience would not have been as pleasant, despite being in great company. I would eat here again if given the chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    36
    61
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have eaten here a few times - but Mexican's not really my thing (too gloopy and cheesy for my palate)

However - when I'm in town from UK on business - I make it a point to visit here at least once and have 2 margaritas (not the frozen ones - that give brain freeze) and the chips and salsa they serve for free!!

I sit and chat to folks sitting near me and watch whatever game of football, baseball or basket ball is paying. Life is good

Great vibe

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not a winner. Not anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

It's average. All average. Nothing jumps out here and yet people keep going. Like they go to the Cheesecake Factory. Big giant menus of average food. The chips are good. All else well average. To many other choices in reston

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ripoff Report”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ate here with a group of friends (6 total) a little while ago. I guess the server only cared about upselling us since he was charging us the "optional" 18% gratuity.

First, I ordered the "Beergarita" which was a margarita with a corona on the top. They failed to mention on the menu that it was a 10oz margarita with an 8 oz coronita (The small mini-bottle). I wouldn't have minded the small size if the price reflected it...and it was actually feasible to drink. The 10 oz glass was so small I had a hard time fitting the straw around the bottle.

Then I ordered a premium margarita which for 11 dollars I would like to at least be able to taste tequila in it. Since our server was no where to be found (Again, most likely because he knew was going to get a tip anyways), I went to the bar and asked the bartender to top it off. She was very rude when refusing and told me to back and talk to our server. Server finally came around and then had another one remade (20-25 minutes from when he first dropped the drink off). Not much of a difference in tequila taste. What's worse is that he charged me for 2 of these even though he taken the first one and I had to argue with him on the bill about the other drink. Eventually he adjusted it.

My friend had ordered the queso dip and then another one but didn't know it was the 8 or 9 dollar queso dip (apparantly they have small and large sizes). The server flat out lied to my friend and said "I asked you large or small and you said large" which was not true, he only asked if he wanted the queso dip. He refused to adjust his bill at all.

We made our issues clear with management and they were very unresponsive, simply stating that we were being billed for what we consumed. (the queso dips included). Very bad experience spending $200+ as a group. for a few drinks each and a couple of entrees.

I could go on about how their food is just average americanized mexican food, but their overpriced drinks and rude staff and management made me never step foot inside one of these ever again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Times at Off Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The place has most everything, friendly young staffers, great food, good location, nice ambiance. They do get busy so I'd recommend getting there early. Bring your friends, they handle groups pretty well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Julio's also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County

Been to Uncle Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Julio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.