We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food-Lots of Options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Counter

The Counter
11922 Democracy Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703 796 1008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty Food-Lots of Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a great lunch here. The menu is a bit overwhelming-lots of choices to make! But they offer some already put-together bowls and burgers, so we went with those and they were super tasty. The server was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The place was fine, but the music was loud. Definitely large portions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    43
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Good for Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I went with my friends first time.I never saw this type of restaurant especially for burgers.I liked it very much.And food is very delicious and worth for money.I have visited couple of times after that. Hospitality also very good.I will command to my friends and family friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FOOD-okay, ATMOSPHERE-no”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Many eateries in Reston Town center close early on Sunday nights, but The counter isn't one of them. This was our first time here.
1. It was cold. We kept our jackets on and the drafts from the door penetrated the entire dining area.
2. It was noisy. We had to raise our voices to hear each other over the volume of the music.
3. I had to ask for forks. Really?
4. They have no warm beverages. None.
5. My beef burger was good, although somewhat under-cooked. The garlic aioli spread was lovely - subtle and it made a good dip, too.
6. I was still tasting the onion strings the next day.
7. The cole slaw was an interesting blend of flavors, but it was quite dry.
We probably won't return for $13 burgers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Tried this restaurant after hearing good things. We were not impressed. My veggie burger became mushy with the toppings and then tasteless. Interesting array of sauces but they do not marry well with the cheese selection. They make better salad dressings. Beef burger was undercooked but ok. Generally just not worth the extra money. Feels too industrial.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food & Casual Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The burgers are great and the toppings are varied and fun. The side salad is quite large and a good option if you want to limit carbs. The sweet potato fries are also tasty. With so many options, you can make it exactly your way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Counter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.