We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayuri

Mayuri
2316 Hunters Wood plaza, Reston, VA 20191
(703) 860-4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 132 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to lunch with my son recently. I've eaten at a number of Indian restaurants and Mayuri has the largest selection of foods of any I've been to. I esp. liked the chicken tikka masala, the biryani rice and the naan. Fresh cantaloupe & honeydew melon were on the salad table - the melons were good for off season and a nice end to my lunch. My son is a vegetarian and was able to pick from a very large selection of dishes. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I love this restaurant. Their food is always full of flavor and nothing is ever bland. I also enjoy some of their odd menu options (dosa - similar to a crepe) that you won't find at traditional Indian restaurants in the NOVA area.

One thing I wish they knew how to do better is serving better drinks. Often the waiter is the bartender and he has no clue how to make any drinks, plus we've had some spoiled wine here. I understand food is their number one priority but the owners should know alcohol is how most restaurants make their real money, hence they should invest in someone to be a full time bartender or train the servers properly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fantastic Indian cuisine. Terrific buffet and great value. Love the food to say the least. This is one of those ethnic restaurants that serves good authentic dishes. I highly recommend this reataurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Authentic Delicious Indian in Reston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

One of our favorite local spots, Mayuri never fails to deliver delicious very flavorful meals! We are big fans of the lamb dishes (especially Rogan Josh and Kadai), each just spicy enough. Garlic and regular naan breads are freshly prepared. Indian beers are available and a tradition for our meals there. The service can be a bit robotic and the atmosphere can leave you desiring something cozier but it is typically quiet and laid back and the staff is attentive. For authentic Indian in Reston you can't go wrong at Mayuri!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Daily Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

In the 4 years since I discovered the buffet at Mayuri, I can honestly state that I develop cravings for this place. There is a nice variety of very tasty and appealing food. They do seem to favor chicken, but they frequently have lamb and fish. I love the vegetarian dishes, variety of rice options, and the mango ice cream is superb.

There is always a crowd for the lunch buffet, and a large portion of ethnic Indians. That is the defining fact in my mind.

As far as service - its a buffet. Seat me, give me water, take away the dishes, and thank me as I leave. Perfect.

My favorite Indian restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayuri also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Mayuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.