We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening Bar Scene with Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson s Mighty Fine Food

Jackson s Mighty Fine Food
Reston Town Center, Reston, VA 20190
703-437-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 121 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A nostalgic nod to mid century Americana and comfort food classics and some unexpected twists (a la sushi) in an upbeat 1940's dinner house.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Happening Bar Scene with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great find! My husband and I sat at the inside bar and before we knew it we were surrounded by people. The bartenders (Dave & Glendan) provided us with great service, great food suggestions and local info.
We started with the deviled egg appetizer that was accompanied with the most delectable sugar cured bacon...Incredible!
Then I chose the Lump Crab cake, slaw and fries. The crab cake had minimal filler and huge lump crabmeat and was melt in your mouth delicious. The crunchy slaw was the best I have ever tasted. The fresh cut fries were a welcomed addition although I could only try a couple since the main event was so amazing.
My husband had the french dip sandwich that was also absolute perfection! The prime rib was rare in the middle surrounded by a more well done wrap of prime rib. The roll was a delicious crisp and crisp that soaked up just the perfect amount of au jus.
Jackson's was a welcomed surprise for two people who stopped in for a glass of wine and vodka tonic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    136
    40
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool, fun, hip bar scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This bar/restaurant gets it right. The Mango/Pineapple martini is delicious. Calamari, Lobster Mac n Cheese and even the bread is delicious. Make it a default place and you won't go wrong.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Always Busy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place has its share of regulars. Always busy with a fun loving crowed. Not the most suitable for families as it is most the bar scene that draws the most crowed and can get very noisy inside, but still they serve pretty decent food as well. There is always some fancy car or motorcycle parked just in front testifying to its popularity among the young at heart.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Upscale Goodness!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My family & I were exploring Reston. We decided to go with TAdvisor's suggestion. We were not disappointed. French Dip was big enough to split & very good. My gkids thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tried and true - but getting a bit boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My kids love it as does the wife. I love their Salmon dish which is seasoned perfectly. The rest of the menu is very good with options like sushi and steak but it is getting tired. They should look to add new items because frankly, it is one factor that makes me want to go elsewhere. The dishes are chain type formulaic ones that you cant go wrong with but again, a little freshening up would do a world of good because I really do enjoy the boisterous atmosphere there. For those so inclined it has a very robust bar scene - indoors and out when the weather is good. Staff is always courteous and attentive so no complaints there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson s Mighty Fine Food also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Jackson s Mighty Fine Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson s Mighty Fine Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.