We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea bass” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro

Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro
11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
7032343550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 131 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Reston Parkway
Description: Surrounded by the warm feeling of a chic and contemporary atmosphere that encourages conversation, Vinifera is an urban sanctuary in one of America's most renowned suburbs. The unique and sophisticated bistro is a place to have your senses invigorated by every aspect of your visit - from the mouth-watering food to the unforgettable service and welcoming environment. With a focus on seasonal, local and organic ingredients, Executive Chef Bo Palker serves globally-influenced New American cuisine for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. A variety of pintxos (one bites), small plates and entrees are available in the intimate bar & lounge area, illuminated dining room and outdoor patio, featuring custom hand-made Hawaiian fire pits. Sommelier Jason Meringolo flawlessly pairs our inspired dishes with an assortment of over 300 wines by the bottle and 30 selections by the glass poured from an Enomatic system behind the bar. Vinifera is more than just a restaurant – it’s an experience.
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great sea bass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Love the sea bass, but my a few rice grain from my paella wasn't cooked completely. Nonetheless, pretty good food and dessert!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Not like it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are back home in Chicago, this was one of my to-do-list notes
so here I go.

We were a part of 4 and came to Vinifera during restaurant week.
We sat inside and ordered from the restaurant week menu.

It looked nice but it took long time for first course
of salads salads had no cranberry but menu had it included.
The tomato soup was too salty and too spicy
and then it took way too long for our main courses,
and once they came they were quite salty
while one plate with snapper wad also dry
and appeared overcooked.

Our server was nice, but although we told him
food was not OK, no manager showed up to talk to us.

However an arabic looking man with a heavy accent
went to an adjacent table where something was also wrong,
maybe it was a good thing he didnt come to us
as he didn't seem helpful nor did he sound able
to communicate but instead sounded harsh and stern,
the least we wanted was insult to injury.

Overall, we were very happy with other restaurants
in the Reston area, but unfortunately not Vinifera,
which we're afraid we cannot recommend any more.

Irene Volkov

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I recently had tapas here. We did not have any entrees. The $1-2 pintxos were so small that it was hard to really taste any of the ingredients. The wild boar sausage and Milano sausage were sliced so thin that when mixed with the tiny piece of cheese all you got was a cheese taste. The brescola wrapped date just tasted sweet with none of the meat taste. The Blendings were more food than the pintxos, however some were good, some were average. By the end of the night, we had spent $45.00 in food, but still felt hungry. The service was average. I ordered wine ‘x’ – it came out and it was wrong – took almost 10 minutes to flag someone down and get it changed for what I had ordered. One thing that was weird, is that the tapa menu listed on the main (large) menu contains items that are not on the ‘smaller’ menu – I wish management would put them together because it was a pain keeping the 2 menus to figure out what the choices were.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Not Tops in Reston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all, there was no valet parking as stated on the website and it took a while for anyone to come to reception to tell us where to park. The website is somewhat misleading that you can eat on a patio. We were told it was closed for an event and then saw different customers seated anyway. It certainly looked nice out there, with fire pits in some of the tables with couches. But the inside is nice and you can sit either at couches or tables. This was Restaurant Week and the 3 course meal was not as interesting as others I had seen. The organic greens salad with blue cheese and cranberries came without the cranberries (we had to ask for them and were told it was a kitchen "mix-up"--??) and was just so-so. The goat cheese ravioli was nice but not outstanding. However, the rib eye steak was--a very delicious meaty sauce on it; this was the best part of the meal. The creme brulee came on two tiny spoons--one bite each and the chocolate cake was so-so. The wine was too expensive--$16 for 6 oz is unreasonable in my book. Not my top restaurant in Reston though it was pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is good, service not so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The food was good, but the service is not up to what you would expect. We were four, and two of the main dishes arrived a few minutes later (it is odd to have two people eating, and two waiting) We were sitting outdoor, and the waitress was not there, we had to look for her a few times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.