We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Appetizers and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro

Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro
11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 141 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Reston Parkway
Description: Surrounded by the warm feeling of a chic and contemporary atmosphere that encourages conversation, Vinifera is an urban sanctuary in one of America's most renowned suburbs. The unique and sophisticated bistro is a place to have your senses invigorated by every aspect of your visit - from the mouth-watering food to the unforgettable service and welcoming environment. With a focus on seasonal, local and organic ingredients, Executive Chef Bo Palker serves globally-influenced New American cuisine for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. A variety of pintxos (one bites), small plates and entrees are available in the intimate bar & lounge area, illuminated dining room and outdoor patio, featuring custom hand-made Hawaiian fire pits. Sommelier Jason Meringolo flawlessly pairs our inspired dishes with an assortment of over 300 wines by the bottle and 30 selections by the glass poured from an Enomatic system behind the bar. Vinifera is more than just a restaurant – it’s an experience.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Appetizers and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did not eat dinner but enjoyed pretty much all of the small plates while sipping wine on their outside patio/fire pit area.
It was lovey....the service was great and we enjoyed some family time in what felt like our own little private patio.

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were staying at the Westin, the hotel that Vinifera is located in. We had Sunday brunch and it was very good. This is a nice restaurant though so be prepared for smaller portions, higher prices and slower meal preparation time. If you have the time and want a good convenient meal while staying at the Westin, I highly recommend Vinifera.

Visited April 2013
Thank GM373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had the spinach salad, which was excellent; the veal, which was amazing; and the creme brulee sampler, which was good. Overall, an outstanding experience. Since I don't drink, I didn't take advantage of their wine offerings. It's expensive, but I'd say it's worth it.

Visited April 2013
Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed at the Westin and had dinner at Vinifera. The food is excellent, they were busy but service was still very good. We had the escargot, wonderful flovor, the calamari was so very fresh and dipping sauces added to the flovor. I had the duck was perfect, not dry or greasy and the farro and sauce excellent. My husband had the Pad Thai dish and he enjoyed it very much, the suggested wine pairings were great and added to the dishes enjoyment. We had dessert I had the Creme Brulee sampler and my husband the passion fruit sorbet. It was a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Gens328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent small plates and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the dinner we ate here recently. Each small plate was excellent. The wine list is extensive but a little pricey. The atmosphere was classy (it is the restaurant of the Westin Hotel) and quiet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank lovetotravel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County

Been to Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing