We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro

Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro
11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
17032343550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5 Bars & Pubs in Reston
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Reston Parkway
Description: Surrounded by the warm feeling of a chic and contemporary atmosphere that encourages conversation, Vinifera is an urban sanctuary in one of America's most renowned suburbs. The unique and sophisticated bistro is a place to have your senses invigorated by every aspect of your visit - from the mouth-watering food to the unforgettable service and welcoming environment. With a focus on seasonal, local and organic ingredients, Executive Chef Bo Palker serves globally-influenced New American cuisine for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. A variety of pintxos (one bites), small plates and entrees are available in the intimate bar & lounge area, illuminated dining room and outdoor patio, featuring custom hand-made Hawaiian fire pits. Sommelier Jason Meringolo flawlessly pairs our inspired dishes with an assortment of over 300 wines by the bottle and 30 selections by the glass poured from an Enomatic system behind the bar. Vinifera is more than just a restaurant – it’s an experience.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

First time here. Was greeted promptly by the staff and seated shortly thereafter. Every member of the staff was smiling and busy. I had made seating reservations, but they were not needed on this night. The ambiance is warm and friendly. The room is trendy and appealing. The adjacent bar was packed with businessmen from the Westin Hotel. Our food was presented and prepared perfectly. The wines were great. My group was never rushed and enjoyed many appetizers prior to the main courses and dessert.
Parking was close, open and free.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CobaltConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice lobsters and scallops! Tuna and salmon are a must-try! Scored high points for that! Close proximity to Westin and the service staff here is excellent! Variety of food and you will never regret coming to this place ever!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Food, Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We started with appetizers of lobster and scallop with horseradish potato. They were so delicious that we continued with apps and tried the venison sausage, Milano sausage, wild boar with cheddar cheese, calamari, duck rangoon, scallop with butternut squash, we were satisfied at this point but could not resist the dessert. Blueberry strudel with ice cream and creme brulee sampler. Desserts were Ok but everything else was superb. Apps paired with Riesling and Pinot Noir. Dessert with Muscatto. You need to ask for bread and they will bring you a nice batch of assorted breads with a creamy butter, very fresh. Excellent Service and Price. Will definitely eat here in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLaBoscos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I went here for dinner (by myself), and ordered about 5 appetizers and salads instead of a main course, and was quite pleased by the flavors. The tuna and salmon were high points. They didn't bring bread until I asked, and the bread was really good, too, so it's worth asking for. The dessert (a blueberry pastry thing with ice cream) was actually too much, so bring your appetite if you order dessert.
I order the "flight of wines" from Virginia, and was a tad disappointed, both because they were out of several wines (this is wine bar), and because I thought the wines were OK but not anything special.
The waitress was an excellent server, but I thought the main maitre'd was inattentive (I had to walk right up to him and get his attention). There was no reason to make a reservation here - it was almost empty when I went on a Sunday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunchtime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've been here several times for lunch. Vinifera never disappoints. It's a great location within The Westin plenty of underground parking or valet if you opt for it The staff is friendly. I've tried several of the appetizers and always gravitate back to the risotto balls. Wonderful start. The sandwich options are amazing. The entries are wonderful as well. I've never waited to be seated and food comes out quickly which is what I expect at lunch time. They also have a lounge area if you just opt for drinks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing