We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great fish in the heart of Reston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PassionFish

PassionFish
11960 Democracy Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703.230.FISH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
PassionFish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 130 restaurants in Reston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Explorer Street
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really great fish in the heart of Reston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The crab cakes from the special menu were okay although a tad on the small side but I would recommend the mussels which came in a delicious sauce and presented in a large steaming casserole like dish. V nice. They also do good cocktails which was a bonus before our meal.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    90
    69
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a special Firecracker sushi that was amazing, and one of the best Bordeaux wines I've ever had. Will definitely be back!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have dined at PassionFish numerous times and have found the food to be excellent each time. The chef has New Orleans roots, and you will find several dishes (seafood gumbo, blackened fish) that demonstrate his skill in Cajun food. Sushi is also available as well as more conventional seafood dishes. Service is attentive without being overly so. It is an excellent place for both couples and families, with a kid's menu available. And I especially recommend the doughnut holes for dessert!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went here last week after a long business day. The restaurant is large and loud. Bar area the most crowded. Many younger professionals. Staff extremely polite and conscienctious. Modernistic decor. We had a large party so we were accomodated with two side-by-side tables. 18% automatic gratuity for large parties. Parking afforded by municiple parking structures, free after 6pm. Food is pretty good, nothing so special you would have to come back, but very well prepared. They split the bill as we were on per diem and had to pay for our own meals which is nice. I had the wedge salad and halibut which were both good. Prices medium to high. Limited street parking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
“Go fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Well, I'm not sure what all the fuss is about over this restaurant. The first thing that struck me is how loud the place is. Hardly what we were expecting for a nice night out for my wife's birthday, since difficult to hear each other across the table due to the din. The second observation was that there is not a single sushi roll that doesn't involve spiced or fried ingredients. Hmmm...my Japanese colleagues would believe this is a good way to cover up ingredients that might not be as fresh as they are made out to be. Chose a shrimp cocktail to start that turned out to be rubbery and tasteless, which generally indicates overcooking and/or age. Entrees arrived about 3 minutes after the appetizers, which made us wonder whether they were pre-cooked and ready to go. The halibut arrived well cooked and was ok, but it was placed over an uninspired cold Asian slaw, which reduced the temperature of the fish to tepid. My wife's salmon was not bad. The desserts were uninspired...seemed lifted from the menu at TGI Friday's. So, if you are looking for a loud, quick, expensive, dinner with mediocre food, PassionFish might do it for you. We think it came up a few cards short.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PassionFish also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to PassionFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PassionFish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.