We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Reston

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Reston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Reston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mars, Pennslyvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days for Memorial Day 2007,
When we checked in, and the hotel and they were oversold, and then gave us a free night at the Sheraton Reston Hotel. Then they gave us 2 breakfast vouchers, which the breakfast buffet was perfect. They also gave us a room on top floor, the regency floor. The regency club was great too. What I liked was that the people who were staying on the regency floor, needed a card key to get to their floor. The location was very nice. The grounds were nicely decorated. The bellman was also very friendly, and attentative. The lobby was very elegant and welcoming. The pool was somewhat cool, and small, but nice. The hottub was nice the first day, but the next day it was closed because of a high level of chemicals. The jets weren't on and the floor of the hottub was scummy. The room was everthing I wanted. The beds were very soft. The tubs were huge. Also there was a tv and phone in the bathroom. Overall the hotel was very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Great Service, Everyone would say hi to you, and call you MR or MRS.
  • Disliked — Small Pool and Dirty hottub.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    165
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
54
31
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

At this hotel for a two day meeting. My expectations were fairly low, given that I am not a huge Hyatt fan, but was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It does not have the standard gaping atrium that most Hyatt's have, so it has a warmer feel to it. The rooms are of decent size, with good wireless internet access, nice baths (though very small) and other nice amenities. There are several restaurants within walking distance (which you may wish to use to avoid the rather expensive room service menu).

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGTON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

It's a non-smoking hotel, and in the southeast end of 'Fountain Square' in Reston's City Center. Nearby are lots of franchise stores, and a few gems here and there. Envision the demographics where there are two Starbucks, a Panera, a McCormick & Schmick, all within nearly a stone's throw of each other.

The rooms are typical Hyatt, but have a cleaner/newer feel to them. The hotel's catering variety and quality were above average for the event we attended in the hotel.

It's not a large hotel, and it charges $9.95 for WiFi, so go downstairs to Panera's and logon for free.

The only downsides: the porters and car park valets aren't very attentive, however the garage is next door and is free of charge! I wonder how long that will last. When we were there, the elevators acted a bit strangely. They were fixing them as we left.

The hotel is ten minutes from Dulles, and there's a shuttle bus that can take you back and forth. The hotel is located next to the toll road that will take you right to the heart of Washington DC if that's your final destination, but this toll road like other highways in this area of Virginia is often jammed to parking lot status. If you want to see a lot of DC or have business there, it's best to get a hotel in DC, not here.

Overall: We're happy with this Hyatt; it's better than many.

  • Liked — Clean, newer, nice restaurants nearby, free parking
  • Disliked — Porter/valets are very overworked. Nice though.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We attended a family reunion in D.C. area, and because we have stayed at this hotel in the past and liked it, we did not stay at the hotel where the family was staying, but elected to return here.
It was a mistake.
Upon booking, a month prior to our stay, I requested a corner room, which we had enjoyed on a previous stay, and I was told that this was no problem.
The check-in was a nightmare.
Upon approaching the front desk, I was required to wait in line behind at least 100 high school students who had arranged to stay here as part of a very large convention. I told the front desk that I was NOT part of this group to no avail.
Upon finally reaching the front desk and having to endure very large volume of noise from the students, I was told that the type of room that I reserved was NO longer available because of the tremendous amount of high school students there.
I complained to the desk manager about not getting what was promised and about not being informed about the extremely large numbers of teenagers that we would be sharing the facilities with that weekend. The desk personnel did nothing to make us feel better. They could have won good will by offering something, but they did nothing. So during our fight to get an elevator that weekend or seats in the lobby or even turndown service, we only got annoyed.
The room was ok. The housekeeping was ok. But what will be remembered is the poor treatment from the front desk.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

I had a delightfull hotel experience at the Hyatt Regency Reston. The free shuttle from Washington DC Dulles Airport was a plus and it only took 10 minutes from there to get to the hotel. We were very impressed the minute we walked into the Hyatt. Beautiful marble and very elegant furnishings is a big part of the lobby and the attrium area is just gorgeous. Our front desk clerk was very nice and even upgraded us to their regency floor where they served a very nice continental breakfast and tasty appetizers & desserts in the evening. The view from the regency club & our room is just fabulous too! The rooms them self were very attractive and the beds are as comfortable as they get. They have very nice citrus bath product which I especially appreciated because with airline restrictions, I don't pack shampoo anymore.
We were pleasantly surprised by the what Reston Town Center itself offered. Right outside the doors is a popular outdoor ice rink that we enjoyed, plus at least a dozen very nice restaurants , shops and even an Aveda spa. I whole heartedly recommend staying at the Hyatt Regency Reson. Robert W / Bedford MA

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2006

I had never stayed at a Hyatt before, so I stayed at a nearby one for a weekend getaway. Overall I had a nice experience: the staff was very friendly, the room was clean and cozy, and the breakfast buffet at the Market St. Grille was excellent. This Hyatt is located within an easy walk to a number of shops and fine restaurants (Clyde's, M & S, and Pizzeria Uno, to name three), which was convenient. The only downside to my stay was that the Hyatt charges $9.95 a day for wireless internet access; comparable hotels at which I had previously stayed offered this service for free. Other than this, I did enjoy my stay at the Hyatt.

  • Liked — Location to shopping and restaurants
  • Disliked — Having to pay for wireless internet access (similar hotels offer this service for free)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

We stayed here recently while in town for a family wedding. The hotel is classic Hyatt -- nice rooms, good amenities, good location and great service. We would definitely stay here again. The only thing we did not like was the view from our hotel window, which was a view onto the roof and a construction site. But apart from that, it was great. Beds were comfortable and the place is well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Reston

Address: 1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Reston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four diamond property located in the heart of Reston Town Center. 2004 $8.2 Million dollar guestroom renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Reston Hotel Reston
Reston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.